Community College Leadership: Research and Writing Aids

This book provides practical guidance on processes of researching a range of relevant literature on a subject, planning and writing a literature review.

This book is designed specifically to instruct you in the practicalities of the writing process used to create strong, thorough, and potentially bulletproof literature reviews. This book is the culmination of years of research experience. It's also the culmination of several years of teaching writing and critical thinking to doctoral students.

A lively, concise, and to-the-point guide, which will steer you through the entire process.

Online research methods are popular, dynamic and fast-changing. This edition offers both updates of existing subject areas and new chapters covering more recent developments, such as social media, big data, data visualization and CAQDAS. It covers online data capture and collection, online surveys, digital quantitative analysis, visual ethnography, and more

With coverage of the entire research process in social media, data collection and analysis on specific platforms, and innovative developments in the field, this handbook is the ultimate resource for those looking to tackle the challenges that come with doing research in this sphere.

The central purpose of this book is to enable practitioners to undertake and to offer an account of an action research project. The volume is divided into seven sections, the first six of which are headed by commonly asked questions. Having examined the nature of action research, Costello focuses on developing an appropriate project, data collection and analysis, and producing a research report. The final selection offers suggestions for further reading.

Doing Qualitative Research in Education Setting is written primarily for graduate students and others new to qualitative research.

his book presents a concise yet rigorous description of how to design and conduct fieldwork projects and how to examine data in multiple ways for interpretive insight. .

Through contributions from internationally leading scholars in the field, the handbook offers a state of the art look at: Concepts, Contexts, Basics; Verbal, Ethnographic, and Material Data; Digital and Internet Data; Triangulation and Mixed Methods; Collecting Data in Specific Populations.

The wide range of approaches to data analysis in qualitative research can seem daunting even for experienced researchers. This handbook is the first to provide a state-of-the art overview of the whole field of QDA, from general analytic strategies used in qualitative research to approaches specific to particular types of qualitative data, including talk, text sounds, images and virtual data

A practical approach to quantitative research techniques by providing step-by-step guides to their application and interpretation. By using easy-to-understand language, while at the same time not losing the statistical underpinnings, as well as downloadable datasets, this book demonstrates how to use the appropriate quantitative methods to answer different types of research questions, and how to analyse data by using SPSS.

As part of their research activities, researchers in all areas of education develop measuring instruments, design and conduct experiments and surveys, and analyze data resulting from these activities. Educational research has a strong tradition of employing state-of-the-art statistical and psychometric (psychological measurement) techniques. Commonly referred to as quantitative methods, these techniques cover a range of statistical tests and tools. Quantitative research is essentially about collecting numerical data to explain a particular phenomenon of interest.

In this book, authors Carolyn S. Ridenour and Isadore Newman reject the artificial dichotomy between qualitative and quantitative research strategies in the social and behavioral sciences and argue that by employing multiple methods, researchers can enhance the quality of their research outcomes.

This book argues the case for combining multiple research methods, and provides much-needed practical guidance for researchers who want to use this mixed-methods approach.

This is a jewel among methods handbooks, bringing together a formidable collection of international contributors to comment on every aspect of the various central issues, complications, and controversies in the core methodological traditions. It is designed to meet the needs of those disciplinary and nondisciplinary problem-oriented social inquirers for a comprehensive overview of the methodological literature