The American Community College by
The American Community College by Cohen and Brawer has been the authoritative book on community colleges. Anyone who wants to understand these complex and dynamic institutions--how they are evolving, the contributions they make, the challenges they face, the students they serve, and the faculty and leaders who deliver the services and the curricula--will find The American Community College both essential reading and an important reference book." --George R. Boggs, former president and CEO, American Association of Community Colleges "I have been a community college president for over forty-one years and a graduate professor for three decades. This book has been an inspiration to generations of students, faculty members, and administrators. It has become the classic of the field because it has great 'take-home' value to us all." --Joseph N. Hankin, president, Westchester Community College "Cohen and Brawer's classic work is the touchstone for a comprehensive overview of the American community college. This is a seminal book for graduate students as well as seasoned professionals for understanding this uniquely American institution." --Charles R. Dassance, former president, Central Florida Community College
Community College Leadership and Administration by
This book, a training tool for the 21st-century community college leader and administrator, deconstructs outdated practices and constructs new approaches to how contemporary community college leadership is viewed, practiced, and envisioned. Both timely and comprehensive, the book develops new models that are focused on facilitating leadership innovation, and encourages both formal and informal leaders to become active agents for change. A relevant case study, written by an experienced community college leader, follows each chapter.
The Community College Story by Ethical Leadership in the Community College by
This book addresses the importance of ethical leadership and explores real-world applications so that community college leaders can develop the institutional savvy to be extraordinary ethical leaders. Written for community college faculty, staff, presidents, and trustees who are committed to being ethical leaders, this book is divided into two sections: The first provides brief theoretical foundations for ethical leadership and relates those foundations to daily practice; the second explores in-depth daily practice for ethical leaders.
A Handbook on the Community College in America by
This reference provides a comprehensive treatment of all aspects of the community college in America. The volume contains broad sections on the historical development of community colleges, their mission and functions, curriculum and instruction, managerial concerns, financial issues, human resources, faculty, students, and the context in which they operate.
It's All about Student Learning: managing community and other college libraries in the 21st century by
Very often in the operation of two-year and other small academic libraries there are common issues and concerns. Librarians working in such institutions take the opportunity to share current thinking on such topics as managing change, accreditation standards, auxiliary roles and responsibilities on the campus, marketing library services, collection development, personnel issues, cooperation with other institutions, coping with technology, and a host of unusual problems.
Serving Minority Populations by
Focuses on community colleges that are responding to the academic, financial, and cultural needs of an increasingly diverse student population. Programs and services are profiled that improve access, retention, and overall academic success. At the heart of this volume are best practices that rely upon the experience and successes of Minority Serving Institutions and that offer direction to mainstream community colleges seeking to meet the needs of their increasingly diverse student bodies.
Thirteen Ideas That Are Transforming the Community College World by
America's community colleges are experiencing the most creative and substantive period of transformation in their 118-year history. There has never been so much research, so much support from foundations, and so much commitment from national leaders to reimagine community colleges for today and for the future.
University Leadership in Urban School Renewal by
This book features examples of university leaders who took a personal interest in and led their institutions' efforts to improve the quality of teacher preparation, and to develop partnerships with school systems to ensure that more future teachers were recruited, prepared, and provided with an excellent transition into their teaching roles. The leaders used their power to communicate with campus communities and partner beyond their institutions, into the communities in which they are located.
Community College Finance by
Community College Finance provides an introduction to best practices for community college leaders and their boards, with guidance on the complex regulations, processes, and considerations surrounding the financial management of these unique institutions.
Community College Leadership by
Recognizing that future community college leaders - at all levels- will manage increasingly complex organizations, and face very different challenges than their predecessors, this book provides a multidimensional model of leadership suited to these new demands and environments. The model addresses issues of leader cognition, race and gender, the importance of culture, and the need for more collaborative modes of communication and decision making to frame and implement change. It recognizes that there is no longer any one way to lead, and that the next generation of leaders will be more diverse, possess experience and qualifications from a wider variety of careers, and follow new pathways to their positions. Through over 75 individual interviews with leaders and campus members, Eddy is able to provide examples of the model's components in practice and to illuminate which experiences proved the most relevant for these leaders on their route to upper administration. She shows how her model intersects with the leadership competencies defined by the American Association of Community Colleges, and proposes strategies for future leadership development.
Ethical Leadership and the Community College by
This aim is essential, as ethical leadership is needed to address the continual ethical quandaries and persistent leadership dilemmas (e.g., funding, governance, accountability, shifting student demographics) facing public postsecondary education in the current era. When leaders are fully committed to the ideals that underscore public education (e.g., public good, access, social mobility, civic engagement) and accept the notion that their role as leaders is to be a servant to others, ethical leadership serves as a roadmap to guide their decisions, actions, and advocacy. This volume serves as a comprehensive resource in articulating the foundational, conceptual, interpersonal, and practical dispositions of the critical need to develop leaders with high moral aptitudes.
Ethics, the Heart of Leadership by
Top academic scholars ponder the question of ethics as it pertains to all aspects of leadership in business, government, and nonprofit organizations. * Includes contributions from philosophers, management theorists, and industrial and organizational psychologists * Reveals the roles that deception and self-deception play in exercising power * Explains complex management models in easy-to-understand, accessible language * Examines leadership across a variety of industries
Generation X Presidents Leading Community Colleges by
The American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) reports over 900 presidential transitions in the last five years. It also estimated that nearly 50% of presidents will retire in the next 5 years. The flood of imminent retirements of sitting presidents and other senior leaders from community colleges is widely known. As community colleges are facing unprecedented challenges with the exodus of successful presidents, Generation X leaders are stepping in to fulfill the vacant leadership positions.
How to Teach Adults by
Your hands-on guide to teaching adults. . . no matter what the subject In this expanded edition of How to Teach Adults, Dan Spalding offers practical teaching and classroom management suggestions that are designed for anyone who works with adult learners, particularly new faculty, adjuncts, those in community colleges, ESL teachers, and graduate students. This reader-friendly resource covers all phases of the teaching process from planning what to teach, to managing a classroom, to growing as a professional in the field.
Inclusive Directions by
This practitioner's guide will provide timely and relevant insight on the ultimate benefits of strategic diversity leadership to promote inclusive excellence at community colleges. This book offers tangible resources and discusses the role of the chief diversity officer. This book will significantly benefit those interested in learning more about diversity and inclusion at community colleges and will provide insight into strategic diversity leadership. The book provides an in-depth view of the roles and responsibilities of the chief diversity officer, diversity strategic planning, and examines the various roles of diversity leaders at community colleges.
Leadership Theory and the Community College by
This book presents leaders and aspiring leaders in community colleges with a theoretical and practical framework for analyzing their leadership styles, and determining the dimensions of leadership they need to improve in order to strengthen their capacity to resolve complex issues and effectively guide their institutions. It does so through presenting theories about leadership that are congruent with the notions of equity, access, diversity, ethics, critical inquiry, transformational change, and social justice that drive the missions of community colleges, and at the same time provides the reader with the strategic skills to prepare for and navigate the profound changes ahead.
Minding the Dream by
Minding the Dream provides challenging, reflective, and practitioner-based information about community colleges that is data-based, clear and accessible for the general reader as well as the scholar. New employees, current leaders, graduate students, legislators, and boards of trustees need a grounded sense of the magnitude of the community college sector.
Practical Leadership in Community Colleges by
Practical Leadership in Community Colleges offers a path forward through the challenges community colleges face every day. Through field observations, reports, news coverage, and interviews with leaders and policy makers, this book digs deep into the issues confronting college leaders and provides clear direction for managing through the storm. With close examination of both emerging trends and perennial problems, the discussion delves into issues brought about by changing demographics, federal and state mandates, public demand, economic cycles, student unrest, employee groups, trustees, college supporters, and more to provide practical guidance toward optimal outcomes for all stakeholders.
Understanding Community Colleges by
Understanding Community Colleges provides a critical examination of contemporary issues and practices and policy of community colleges. This contributed volume brings together highly respected scholars as well as new scholars for a comprehensive analysis of the community college landscape, including management and governance, finance, student demographics and development, teaching and learning, policy, faculty, and workforce development. At the end of each chapter, the "Questions for Discussion" section helps to bridge the gap between research and practice. Written for students enrolled in higher education and community college graduate programs, as well as social sciences scholars, this provocative new edition covers the latest developments in the field, including trends in enrollment, developmental education, student services, funding, and shared governance.