Health and Medical CollectionThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to over 1,530 publications with over 1,270 available in full text and of these, over 910 include MEDLINE indexing. It covers clinical research titles as well as hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles.
Nursing & Allied Health DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides abstracting and indexing for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,000 full text dissertations in nursing and allied health related fields.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in PrintThis link opens in a new windowContains full-text information about and reviews of over 2,000 commercially available English-language tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. All entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts. Coverage is from 1985 (Volume 9) to the present.
Librarian
This guide was created by Laura Kortz, virtual services, reference & acquisitions librarian.
To reach me, you can e-mail me at lkortz@njcu.edu or call me at 201-200-3473 and leave a message with a number where I can reach you.
Multidisciplinary Databases
Academic Search PremierThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Premier is one of EBSCOhost's full-text databases. It covers full-text articles from nearly 3,200 scholarly publications, and numerous peer-reviewed journals with a coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc.
ProQuest CentralThis link opens in a new windowProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
SAGE JournalsThis link opens in a new windowThe database provides full-text access to over 645 peer-reviewed journal dating back to 1999. It includes leading international peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 245 scholarly and professional societies. Subject coverage includes business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, medicine and many more.
Gale Academic OneFileThis link opens in a new windowThis multi-subject database contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources, with extensive coverage on physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsThis link opens in a new windowThis is a finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.
eBook Academic CollectionThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text access to more than 125,000 eBooks from leading university presses, such as: Oxford University Press, MIT Press, Cambridge University Press, University of California Press, and Harvard University Press.
The titles included represent a broad range of academic subject matter, including: art, business & economics, education, language arts & discipline, literary criticism, medical, performing arts, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion, social science, technology & engineering, and others. All titles are available with unlimited user access, and new titles are added each month.
Google ScholarThis link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar searches peer-reviewed papers, dissertations, citations, abstracts and reports from a variety of scholarly sources provided by academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and open access publishers.
Searching Google Scholar from Guarini Library homepage, full text resources that are available from NJCU Library-subscribed databases or electronic journals will be automatically accessible (Gothic ID needed for off-campus access).
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR Arts & Sciences III includes journals in languages and literature, as well as essential titles in the fields of music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the history and study of art and architecture. Additional interdisciplinary titles broaden the scope of coverage to include folklore, feminist & women's studies. JSTOR Arts & Sciences V builds on previously introduced disciplines, adding important literary reviews and state historical journals.
Related Databases
Education
Education SourceThis link opens in a new windowThis database covers scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers covering all levels of educationfrom early childhood to higher educationas well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Education source contains the fulltext for more than 1900 journals and 550 books, indexing and abstracts for over 3500 journals, and includes citations for over 5.5 million articles including book reviews.
Education DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowThe database gives access to over 745 top educational publications, including nearly 600 of the titles in full text. It covers the leading full-text journals in education, not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
ERICThis link opens in a new windowThis US Department of Educational Resource Information Center database contains citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals. The database also contains full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information.
Psychology
APA PsycINFOThis link opens in a new windowAccess to all the citations and summaries of journal articles back to 1887 that PsycINFO has created in electronic form. This database is provided by the American Psychological Association.
APA PsycArticlesThis link opens in a new windowThe database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. It provides full text access to selected APA journals from 1987 to the present.
Psychology DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowThe database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 610 titles, with over 520 titles available in full text to leading psychology and psychosomatic publications. In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more. A number of the titles are heavily cited and have a strong set of ISI impact factors.
