Library Guides: Library Resources for ENGL 345: Literature of Genocide

Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

201-200-3473

Ask a Librarian

Librarians are available to help you find resources for all of your assignments! E-mail us at libraryref@njcu.edu or text us at 201-667-2238. You can also reach out on social media: we are on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

Social Media

Videos

I created the videos below to help you find resources for your project for this class. Each video introduces you to a different type of resource to find books, scholarly articles and more. Feel free to reach out to me if you have any questions or need assistance.

Online Library Catalog: WorldCat Discovery

Use any combination of keywords, subjects, authors, or titles
Search results will include both print and electronic library holdings
Download fulltext e-books and e-journal articles easily
Locate print materials and DVDs in the library using the shelving locations, call numbers, collection guide, and map
Limit results by format, date, full-text, and peer-review
Search for books, journals, and articles in other libraries and request these items using Inter-library Loan
Use the Ask-a-Librarian feature to chat online or request assistance

Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier is one of EBSCOhost's full-text databases. It covers full-text articles from nearly 3,200 scholarly publications, and numerous peer-reviewed journals with a coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window This multi-subject database contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources, with extensive coverage on physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR Arts & Sciences III includes journals in languages and literature, as well as essential titles in the fields of music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the history and study of art and architecture. Additional interdisciplinary titles broaden the scope of coverage to include folklore, feminist & women's studies. JSTOR Arts & Sciences V builds on previously introduced disciplines, adding important literary reviews and state historical journals.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window The database provides full-text access to over 645 peer-reviewed journal dating back to 1999. It includes leading international peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 245 scholarly and professional societies. Subject coverage includes business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, medicine and many more.

Literature Databases

Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window The database contains full text for plot summaries, literary criticism, author biographies, literary journals, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems, short stories and much more. It also includes Merriam Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature, The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics, Beacham's Research Guide to Biography and Criticism (six volumes), The Oxford Illustrated History of English Literature, The Literary Encyclopedia, The Columbia Companion to the 20th Century American Short Story, all of MagillOnLiterature Plus and much more.
Infobase - Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window GALE Literary Sources includes full text literary criticism, author biographies, plot summaries & work overviews, articles, essays, eBooks, book reviews, classic texts and more.

History Databases

Infobase - Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window Covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of world history-from mid 15th century to the present.

Books on History of Genocide

Aftermath by Karen Auerbach (Editor)
ISBN: 9781922235640
Publication Date: 2015-02-23
Aftermath examines how genocide is remembered and represented in both popular and scholarly memory, integrating scholarship on the Holocaust with the study of other genocides through a comparative framework.
Blood and Soil by Ben Kiernan
ISBN: 9780300100983
Publication Date: 2007-09-25
For thirty years Ben Kiernan has been deeply involved in the study of genocide and crimes against humanity. He has played a key role in unearthing confidential documentation of the atrocities committed by the Khmer Rouge. His writings have transformed our understanding not only of twentieth-century Cambodia but also of the historical phenomenon of genocide.
Genocide by William D. Rubinstein
ISBN: 9781317869962
Publication Date: 2014-07-10
Genocide is a topic beset by ambiguities over meaning and double standards. In this stimulating and gripping history, William Rubinstein sets out to clarify the meaning of the term genocide and its historical evolution, and provides a working definition that informs the rest of the book. He makes the important argument that each instance of genocide is best understood within a particular historical framework and provides an original chronology of these distinct frameworks.
Genocide by Jane Springer
ISBN: 0888996810
Publication Date: 2006-08-18
Some view the systematic killing, rape, and destruction of homes in Darfur as a grave humanitarian crisis. For others, it's a clear example of the ultimate crime against humanity -- genocide.
Genocide from Antiquity to the Beginning of the Twentieth Century by Arthur Grenke
ISBN: 9780773420540
Publication Date: 2011-06-28
This is a historical analysis of the dynamics and factors that have led to genocide, from ancient times to the beginning of the 20th century.
The Origins of Violence by John Docker
ISBN: 9781849643221
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Genocide is commonly understood to be a terrible aberration in human behaviour, performed by evil, murderous regimes such as the Nazis and dictators like Suharto and Pinochet. John Docker argues that the roots of genocide go far deeper into human nature than most people realise.Genocide features widely in the Bible, the literature of ancient Greece and Rome, and debates about the Enlightenment.
The Oxford Handbook of Genocide Studies by Donald Bloxham
ISBN: 9780191572609
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Genocide has scarred human societies since Antiquity. In the modern era, genocide has been a global phenomenon: from massacres in colonial America, Africa, and Australia to the Holocaust of European Jewry and mass death in Maoist China. In recent years, the discipline of 'genocide studies' has developed to offer analysis and comprehension.The Oxford Handbook of Genocide Studies is the first book to subject both genocide and the young discipline it has spawned to systematic, in-depth investigation.

Library Resources for ENGL 345: Literature of Genocide