Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Civilizations: Subject Guide

Guarini Library Resources on Civilizations

Subject Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

Related Databases

Books & E-Books (Available Through the Guarini Library)

E-Books & Texts (Freely Available)

Ancient Civilizations

Akhenaten The Great Hymn to Aten 

Bhagavad-Gita (Theosophical University Press Online Edition)
Code of Hammurabi -text and commentary from Ancient History Sourcebook at fordham.edu
Confucius Analects of Confucius (HTML at nothingistic.org).
Epic of Gilgamesh (ancienttexts.org)
Genesis: The Hebrew Creation Story (wsu.edu)
Hesiod Theogony (sacred-texts.com)
Hymns from the Rig Veda - the Hindu creation story (PDF sanskritweb.net)
Lao Tzu (Laozi) The Dao De Jing (Tao Te Ching), (Sacred Books of the East, Vol 39) [1891] 
Nihongi: The Japanese Creation Story (sacred-texts.com)
Popul Vuh: A Mayan Creation Story (sacred-texts.com)
Siddhartha Gautama The Sermon at Benares from Chinese Cultural Studies: The Buddha:
     Sermons and Teachings (6th century B.C.E.) (HTML at acc6.its.brooklyn.cuny.edu)
Yoruban creation myths (HTML at thinkquest.org)

Classical Era

Aristotle On Happiness (HTML at .pursuit-of-happiness.org)
Aristotle Nichomachean Ethics, (HTML at Internet Classics)
Aristotle Poetics (HTML at Internnet Classics)
Aristotle Politics, (HTML at Internet Classic)

Cicero,  Marcus Tullius  On the Laws, (HTMLat fordham.edu)
Cicero, Marcus Tullius De Officiis, (HTML at stoics.com)
Euripides Medea, (HTML at Internet Classics)
Homer The Iliad  (HTML at Perseus)
Horace The Works of Horace, (HTML at Perseus.tufts.edu)
Juvenal On the City of Rome, (HTML at wsu.ed)
Marcus Aurelius The Meditations of Marcus Aurelius Antoninus, (at Internet Classics)
Plato The Allegory of the Cave from The Republic  (text at faculty.washington.edu)
Plato The Apology, (HTML at Internet Classics)
Plato Crito, (Gutenberg text)
Plato Phaedo (HTML at Internet Classics)
Plato The Republic (based on the 1892 edition), (HTML with commentary at Internet Classics)
Plato Symposium, (HTML at Internet Classics)
Sima Qian Records of the Grand Historian: Qin Dynasty, "The First Emperor", (PDF at
isites.harvard.ed)
Sappho "Seizure" and "To Anaktoria" --Selected Works of Sappho (HTML at 4literature.net)
Sophocles Antigone (HTML at Internet Classics)
Sophocles Oedipus the King, (HTML at Internet Classics)
Thucydides History of the Peloponnesian War, (HTMLat eserver.org)
Virgil The Aeneid.(HTML at classics.mit.edu) 

The Middle Ages & Beyond

Aquinas,  Thomas, Saint  Summa Theologica (HTML at .sacred-texts.com)

Augustine of Hippo City of God Against The Pagans (HTML at wischik.com)
Augustine of Hippo Confessions (PDF at ccel.org)
Chaucer, Geoffrey The Canterbury Tales
Chretien de Troyes Lancelot, or, The Knight of the Cart (HTML at OMACL)
Dante Alighieri The Divine Comedy
Volume 1: Gutenberg text
Volume 2: Gutenberg text
Volume 3: Gutenberg text
Marie de France The Lay of the Nightingale 
The Bible (King James Version) (HTML at Bartleby.com)
The Qur'an, (HTML at sacred-texts.com)
"The Sermon On The Mount" Matthew 5-7  (HTML at newadvent.org)
The Song of Roland (HTML at OMACL.org)
St. Paul Epistle to the Romans (HTML at theopedia.com)
Táin Bó Cúalnge (The Cattle-Raid of Cooley) -the central epic of the Ulster cycle. (HTML at
sacred-texts.com)

World Civilizations:

Renaissance and Its Crosscurents

Bijns, Anna Unyoked is Best! Happy the Woman without a Man   (an excerpt )

Christine de Pizan The Book of the City of Ladies, excerpt from the book. (HTML at hanoveredu) 
Luther, Martin The Table-Talk of Martin Luther (HTML at reformed.org)
Machiavelli, Niccolo The Prince  (HTML at http://oregonstate.edu)
Milton, John Paradise Lost  (HTML at luminarium.org)
Montaigne, Michel de Essays,(HTML at gutenberg.org)
Montaigne, Michel de  On Cannibals (1580)  (HTML at www.wsu.edu).
Pico della Mirandola, Giovanni  Oration on the Dignity of Man  (HTML at Santa Fe)
Sadi The Bustan  (HTML at fordham.edu)
Shakespeare, William The Complete Works of William Shakespeare (Bartleby.com)

World of Transformation and Tradition - 1650 to the Early 1800s

Austen, Jane  Pride and Prejudice (HTML at Bartleby) 
Austen, Jane  Sense and Sensibility (Gutenberg text)

Bolivar, Simon "The Jamaica Letter" (PDF at wikispaces.com)
Bolivar, Simon Declaration of the Rights of Man  (at yale.edu)
Descartes, René Meditations on First Philosophy  (oregonstate.edu) 
Hobbes, Thomas Leviathan (oregonstate.edu
Hume, David An Enquiry Concerning Human Understanding (HTML eserver.org)
Locke, John  An Essay Concerning Human Understanding (oregonstate.edu)
Montesquieu, Charles de Secondat, baron de The Spirit of Laws. (constitution.org) 
Napoleonic Code (napoleonseries.org/)
Rousseau, Jean-Jacques  The Social Contract (HTMLconstitution.or)
Shelley, Mary Frankenstein (HTML at literature.org) 
Smith, Adam Wealth of Nations (McMaster.ca)
U. S. Constitution (HTML at aw.cornell.edu)
Voltaire Candide (literature.org/)

Nineteenth Century Modernization and Change

Cao Xueqin The Dream of the Red Chamber [Hong Lou Meng] (HTML gutenberg.org)

Chekhov, Anton The Seagull (HTML at Gutenberg text)
Chekhov, Anton Selected works and commentary (HTML at eldritchpress.org)
Chekhov, Anton The Three Sisters (HTML at eldritchpress.org)
Chekhov, Anton Uncle Vanya (HTML at upenn.edu)
Chekhov, Anton The Wife, and Other Stories (HTML adelaide.edu.au) 
Chekhov, Anton The Witch and Other Stories (HTML at upenn.edu)
Darwin, Charles On the Origin of Species (sixth edition) (HTML at talkorigins.org)
Darwin, Charles The Descent of Man (HTML at infidels.org)
Dostoevsky, Fyodor Selected works and commentary (HTML at kiosek.com)
Douglass, Frederick Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, an American Slave (HTML
at virginia.edu)
Freud, Sigmund Civilization and its Discontents . (HTML at www.primitivism.com)
Freud, Sigmund The Interpretation of Dreams (3rd edition), (HTML at Psych Web) 
Gilman, Charlotte Perkins  The Yellow Wallpaper  (HTML at Virginiaedu)
Ibsen, Henrik  A Doll's House  (Gutenberg tex)
Marx and Engels The Communist Manifesto (HTML anu.edu.au)
Mill, John Stuart  On Liberty (1859) (HTML bartleby.com)
Mill, John Stuart The Subjection of Women (HTML adelaide.edu.au)
Stanton, Elizabeth Cady  Declaration of Sentiments (1848)  (fordham.edu)
Tolstoy, Leo Anna Karenina, (HTML at Bartleby) 
Tolstoy, Leo The Kreutzer Sonata and Other Stories, (HTML Gutenberg tex
Turgenev, Ivan A Desperate Character and Other Stories, (HTML eldritchpress.org) 
Turgenev, Ivan Fathers and Children (HTML at Bartleby)

Twentieth Century Global Society

Beauvoir, Simone de The Ethics of Ambiguity (HTML webster.edu )

Gandhi, Mahatma Hind Swarajya or Indian Home Rule (Online Book at www.mkgandhi.org)
Hemingway, Ernest Hills Like White Elephants, (Hypertext at vcu.edu)
Hughes, Langston Hughes Poetry  (allpoetry.com)
Huxley, Aldous Brave New World. (huxley.net)
Lenin What Is to Be Done? (HTML marxists.org)
Lu Xun New Year's Sacrifice  ( www.comp.nus.edu.sg)
Lu Hsun (Xun) Selected Stories of Lu Hsun  (www.coldbacon.com/writing)
Dr Martin Luther King Jr. Letter From Birmingham Jail. pril 16, 1963 (upenn.edu)
Speeche "I Have a Dream" (americanrhetoric.com)
Mao Tse-Tung (Mao Zedong) Selected Works of Mao Tse-tung (Mao Zedong) (HTML at
marx2mao.org)
Mustafa Kemal Atatürk Speech, at the National Convention of the People's Party of the
Republic, in
Ankara between 15- 20 October, 1927. (at ataturk.turkiye.com)
Nelson Mandela I am Prepared to Die A statement in the Rivonia Trial Pretoria Supreme
Court, 20 April, 1964.
(HTML at anc.org.za)
Neruda, Pablo Pablo Neruda Poems (HTML at lone-star.net)
Nietzsche, Friedrich Thus Spake Zarathustra (text at eserver.org)
Owen, Wilfred Dulce et Decorum Est (englishverse.com)
Sartre, Jean-Paul Existentialism is a Humanism (1946) (www.marxists.org)
Twain, Mark Life on the Mississippi (HTML at unc.edu)
Twain, Mark Roughing It   (Virginia Library)
Tagore, Rabindranath Collection of Poems (HTML at indolink.com)
Tagore, Rabindranath The Hungry Stones and Other Stories  (Project Gutenberg Presents)
Woolf, Virginia Monday or Tuesday (TML at Celebration of Women Writers)
Woolf, Virginia Night and Day (HTML at gutenberg.org)
Woolf, Virginia The Voyage Out (Gutenberg text)

Journals & E-Journals Available Through the Guarini Library

Reference & E-Reference (Available Through the Guarini Library)

Selected Links

World Civilizations:

World Art History:

Ancient Africa:

  • African Timelines -Table of contents of African history and culture.
  • African Voices - History - Provided by National Museum of National History, Smithsonian Institution.
  • The Ancient West African City of Benin - Exhibition in the National Museum of African Art's collection.
  • Explore the Wonders - Let you explore the wonders of African: black kingdoms of the Nile, the Swahili coast , slave kingdoms, the Holy land, road to Timbuktu, lost cities of the south, etc.
  • Mysteries of the Nile - Explore the Pyramids, temples, and other monumental architecture of ancient Egypt through riveting 360° photos shot during this NOVA/PBS Online Adventure.
  • The Story of Africa -The history of the continent from an African perspective.

Ancient China/India:

  • Ancient China - Astrology, Buddhism, Confucius, famous sayings, dragons, Dunhuang caves, Feng shui and more.
  • The British Museum: Ancient India - Interactive features about ancient India through the use of objects from the British Museum's collection. Topics include geography, Buddha, the civilization, writing, scripts, time in ancient India, and the evolution of early Hinduism and its gods and goddesses.
  • Chinese Wedding Traditions - A composite of ancient Chinese wedding customs including the marriage proposal, betrothal, wedding preparations, ceremony, and post-wedding rituals.
  • Daily Life in Ancient China - Basic background information covering the period from about 10,000 B.C. through 900 A.D., and lesson plans, classroom activities, and annotated links.
  • Daily Life in Ancient India - Basic information and links for the ancient civilizations of India.
  • Digital South Asia Library - Reference Resources, Images, Maps, Statistics, Bibliographies, Indexes, and more.
  • Historical Atlas of South Asia - edited by Joseph E. Schwartzberg, the Digital South Asia Library.
  • The Story of India - In this landmark six-part series for PBS and the BBC, Michael Wood will embark on a dazzling and exciting journey through today's India, "seeking in the present for clues to her past, and in the past for clues to her future".
  • A Visual Sourcebook of Chinese Civilization - Features a timeline with links to information and images, and essays on topics such as ancient tombs, Buddhism, clothing, and gardens.

Ancient Egypt:

  • The Ancient Egypt Web Site - A timeline; maps and photographs of monuments; information on Middle-Egyptian grammar and the royal titulary of the Egyptian Pharaohs; a browsable list of people, places, and things; a bibliography; and links. Created by a Belgian Egyptologist.
  • Ancient Egyptian Culture - Daily life, history, mythology and more.
  • Ancient Egyptian Pottery - Pictures, history of Egyptian pottery and ceramic arts.
  • The British Museum- Ancient Egypt - Covers topics: home life, geography, religion, the pharaohs, pyramids, temples, trades, and writing from the British Museum.
  • Egyptians - Articles, images, and interactive media from the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC).
  • KingTutOne.com - An introductory Web site on ancient Egypt, including pharaohs, clip art, pyramids, queens, King Tut, mummies, art, religion, gods, hieroglyphs, societies, and the Sphinx.
  • Larry Orcutt's Catchpenny Mysteries of Ancient Egypt - Explainted.

Ancient Greece:

Ancient and Medieval Middle Eastern:

Ancient Rome:

  • Ancient Rome - Resources of ancient Rome.
  • De Imperatoribus Romanis - An online encyclopedia on the rulers of the Roman empire from Augustus (27 BC-AD 14) to Constantine XI Palaeologus (1449-1453).
  • Encyclopedia Romana - Essays on the history and culture of Rome.
  • The Roman Empire in the First Century - Meet the Emperors of Rome, read the words of poets, philosophers, and learn about life in the 1st Century AD.
  • Romans - From Ancient & classical cultures, provided by Multnomah County Library.

Mayan Mythology:

Medieval Europe: