Women’s & Gender Studies: Subject Guide

Aging:

• AARP The Magazine
• Infoaging.org - A searchable site focusing on aging-related diseases, biological causes of human aging, and a healthier lifestyle.
• The National Center on Women & Aging (NCWA) - Solutions and strategies for dealing with concerns of women as they age, featuring newsletters, reports, current research projects and related links, from Brandeis University.
• National Council on the Aging (NCOA) - Information on adult day services, health care, housing, independent living, and other topics central to "vital aging."

Associations and Foundations:

• American Medical Women's Association - Details of educational projects/programs, recommended books, publications and other resources.
• Global Fund for Women - A non-profit organization that has been making grants to encourage, support, and strengthen women's rights around the world since 1987.
• Institute for Women's Policy Research - An independent, non-profit, research organization, focuses on issues of poverty and welfare, employment and earnings, work and family issues, etc.
• National Council for Research on Women - National and international networks of organizations and individuals, current information on research, policy and action initiatives, funding opportunities, and other resources
• National Organization for Women - An organization devoted to furthering women's rights through education and litigation.
• National Women's Studies Association - Supports and services for feminist teaching, information about the interdisciplinary field of women's studies.
• WomenWatch - Links to UN agencies working on women's issues worldwide, reports on the work of UN conferences on women's issues, national action plans, statistics on women in national governments, and more.
• Women's Organizations You Need to Know - Directory of women's professional organizations.

Careers:

• Institute for Women's Leadership - Provides leadership training and maintain a global network of women who are committed to making a difference with their lives.
• The Office of Women’s Business Ownership (OWBO) -by Small Business Administration.
• Women at Work - Harvard Business Review Podcasts. Conversations about the workplace, and women’s place in it.

Feminism:

• Feminist.com - Feminist links, articles, book titles, and partnerships in women's health, rights, education, culture issues, and many more hot topics.
• Feminist Ethics
• Feminist History of Philosophy
• Feminist Majority Foundation - Organization information, feminist news and events, links to feminist resources by topics, including research assistance.
• Feminist Perspectives on the Self
• Feminist Perspectives on Reproduction and the Family
• Feminist Theory Website 
• International Network on Feminist Approaches to Bioethics
• Resources for Gender and Women’s Studies: A Feminist Review - from the Library of University of Wisconsin

Health:

• National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy (NCPTP) - Information about reducing the rate of teen pregnancy.
• Postpartum Support International 
• Foundation for Women's Cancer - Information, awareness, educational and fundraising programs and more.
• Women's Health Issues - A sorted list of links to women's health issues, from MedlinePlus.

History:

• American Women's History: A Research Guide - A guide to materials in American women history by subject.
• Center for Women's History and Culture - From New York Historical Society.
• Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World - A searchable bibliography, and links to full-text articles, databases, and images on women and gender issues among Greek, Roman, Egyptian, and other ancient cultures.
• The Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony Papers Project - A project locating and publishing the papers of these two nineteenth-century American reformers; supported by Rutgers & the National Historical Publications and Records Commission.
• 100 Women Who Changed the World - From HistoryExtra, The official website for BBC History Magazine and BBC World Histories Magazine.
• Women in Classical Greece.
• Important and Famous Women in America
• InfoPlease: Women's History Month - History and timelines, notable women, famous firsts, trivia, and more.
• National Women's History Project - Promotional materials, education, and informational services to recognize and celebrate women's diversity and contributions.
• Votes for Women - From National American Women's suffrage Association Collection, 1848-1921.
• Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600 -2000 - A collection of primary source documentsWomen Pioneers in American Memory - A link to the Library Congress.
• Women's History - ThoughtCo, Biographies, quotes related to historical women, today in women's history, and more.
• Women of Protest: Photographs from the Records of the National Woman's Party - 448 photographs selected from the Records of the National Woman's Party, housed in the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress.
• Women Working: 1870-1930 - A digital collection of primary source materials for teaching, learning, and research, provided by Harvard University libraries.

New Jersey Women:

• The League of Women Voters of New Jersey - A nonprofit, nonpartisan organization whose purpose is to promote political responsibility through informed and active participation of citizens in government.
• National Organization for Women of New Jersey - MARCH Pictures, News clipping archive, and more.
• New Jersey Coalition Against Sexual Assault (NJCASA) - Programs, services, laws, publications, etc. for elimination of sexual violence.
• New Jersey Coalition to End Domestic Violence (NJCEDV)
• New Jersey Women and AIDS Network - An independent voice to express the needs of women in the HIV/AIDS pandemic.
• New Jersey Women's History - A resource of the history of New Jersey women.
• Women's Political Caucus Of New Jersey

Statistics:

• The World's Women Reports - Prepared by the Statistics Division of the UN Department for Economic and Social Affairs (UN DESA)
• Latest Reports from IWPR - Reports and data on hot topics from the Institute for Women’s Policy Research.
• Women in National Parliament - World and regional averages of Women representation in parliament, provided by National Parliaments.
• Statistics and indicators on women and men - Provides the latest statistics and indicators on women and men in Population, Health, Woman and Men in Families, Education, Work and Political Decision making, by UN.

Violence Against Women:

• American Bar Association Commission On Domestic Violence - Mobilizes the legal profession to provide access to justice and safety for victims of domestic violence.
• Family Violence Prevention Fund - Works to prevent violence within the home, and in the community, to help those whose lives are devastated by violence. .
• Feminist Majority's Domestic Violence Information Center - Information about domestic violence facts, news, Violence Against Women Act, and other Internet sources.
• Ending Violence Against Women - from NOW.
• Institute on Domestic Violence in the African American Community - "Focused on setting an agenda to reduce/eliminate domestic violence in the African American community."
• Office on Violence Against Women - Site of the U.S. Government office in charge of legal and policy issues regarding violence against women, from the U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ).
• Violence Against Women Online Resources - Law, criminal justice, advocacy, and social service professionals with up-to-date information on interventions to stop violence against women.