Political Science: Subject Guide

Comparative Politics:

• Constitute: Online Constitutions of the World - The world's constitutions to read, research and compare.
• Comparative Democratization - A section of APSA, provides papers, newsletters, and other resources.
• Comparative Methods in Political & Social Research - Provided by David Levi-Faur, an associate professor at Hebrew University of Jerusalem.
• Country Reports on Human Rights Practices - submitted annually by the U.S. Department of State to the U.S. Congress.
• Country Studies/Area Handbooks - Covers the social life, economy, history, government and politics, and national security for more than 70 countries.
• Election Guide - Country guides.
• EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents From Western Europe
• International Data Base (IDB) - Offers a variety of demographic indicators for countries and areas of the world.
• International Religious Freedom report - Submitted to Congress annually by the Department of State in compliance with Section 102(b) of the International Religious Freedom Act (IRFA) of 1998.
• International Statistical Agencies -Lists statistical agencies of countries of the world.
• Islam and Islamic Studies Resources - Provided by professor Alan Godlas, University of Georgia.
• Human Rights Watch
• Human Rights Web Archives - from Columbia University Library
• National Constitutions - Offers national constitutions in the world.
• Parline Database on National Parliaments - Covers elections in almost 200 countries.
• The World Bank - Data, statistics, projects& programs, publications and topics, and more.
• World Factbook - CIA
• World Leaders - CIA publications
• World Public Opinion - Provides information and polls on international public opinion on various international issues. Includes poll methodologies and questionnaires.

International Relations:

• Council on Foreign Relations - Independent, nonpartisan member organization, think tank, and publisher.
• Country Report on Terrorism - from U.S. Department of State.
• Country Report on Human Rights - from U.S. Department of State.
• The Brookings Institute - a nonprofit public policy organization.
• Europa - European Union Home Page
• Foreign Relations of the United States - from University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
• Foreign Relations of the United States 1964 - 1980  - Official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.
• GovInfo - Discover U.S. Government Information.
• GPF Global Policy Forum -  an independent policy watchdog that monitors the work of the United Nations.
• Human Rights Watch
• International Affairs Resources - Directory of over 2000 annotated links to information sources and analysis in a wide range of international affairs, international studies, global studies, and global education topics.
• Iraq Energy Data, Statistics and Analysis - Oil, Gas, Electricity - by U.S. Energy Information Administration.
• On War and Peace  - Pulitzer Center
• Related Foreign Affairs Sites - Archived links from the Clinton Administration (2001 and earlier).
• SIPRI: Stockholm International Peace Research Institute - A top global think tank, provides data, analysis and recommendations, based on open sources, to policymakers, researchers, media and the interested public.
• Treaties - Guide to treaty research from Law Library of Congress.
• UNHCR Annual Reports
• United Nations
• U.S.  Bilaterial Relations Fact Sheets
• U.S. Treaties in Force
• USAID - is the humanitarian arm of the State Department.
• World by Map: Statistics, Maps and Charts - by Thomas Brinkhoff.
• World Policy Institute - A non-partisan source of informed policy leadership, offers research and public education on issues such as the arms trade, emerging powers, and American foreign policy.
• Yale Center for the Study of Globalization - Scholarly research and publications on many aspects of globalization, by Yale Univ.
• Yearbook of the United Nations -Searchable and full-text.

Political Philosophy & Methodology.

• The Articles of Confederation
• The Constitution of the United States
• Declaration of Independence
• The Federalist Papers - A series of articles written under the pen name of Publius by Alexander Hamilton, James Madison, and John Jay.
• Founders' Constitution - Web edition of the Founders' Constitution, by University of Chicago Press.
• Gallup - Polling and survey research on what people around the world think and feel.
• Global Legal Monitor (GLM) - An online publication from the Law Library of Congress covering legal news and developments worldwide.
• History of Political Thought - from Prof. Fran Moran's homepage.
• The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
• Madison's Notes to the Constitutional Convention - The Debates in the Federal Convention of 1787.
• Patrick Henry's Speeches on ratification debates
• Political Philosophy - Reading lists, a part of the London Philosophy Study Guide, provided the University of London.
• Political Agenda Setting and the Mass Media
• Political theory Overview  - Oxford handbook online.
• Society for Political Methodology - Information about the Society for Political Methodology of the American Political Science Association.
• World Legal Information Institute - Free, independent and non-profit access to worldwide law.