Sociology, Anthropology and Social Work: Subject Guide

Anthropology

• Aesthetic realism: a new perspective for Anthropology & Sociology - by Dr. Arnold Perey, a teacher at the not-for-profit Aesthetic Realism Foundation.
• Alan Macfarlane's website - Alan MacFarlane, Emeritus Professor of Anthropological Science and a Life Fellow of King's College, Cambridge.
• AnthroGlobe bibliographies - Collection of specialist bibliographies compiled by the editors of AnthroGlobe electronic journal.
• Anthropology Biography Web - by Minnesota State University anthropology students, provides over 845 biographies of anthropologists and other scientists that have directly influenced the discipline.
• Anthropology Resources on the Internet - A list of Internet resources with anthropological relevance.
• Anthropology review database - A searchable database of reviews of anthropological books, films and videos, audio recordings, software and multimedia and online resources.
• Anthropology Tutorials - Created and Maintained by Dr. Dennis O'Neil, Behavioral Sciences Department, Palomar College.
• The Division of Anthropology, American Museum of Natural History - Online collections with detailed description and images for over 160,000 ethnographic artifacts.
• Intute: Anthropology - Free access to high quality Internet resources.
• Public Anthropology - Free abstracts of articles written by anthropology students, photos taken anthropologists and more.
• University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology - provides "Reports from the Field" written by researchers based in countries around the world, offering insight into a variety of research projects.

Marriage and Family Life

• Advocates for Children of New Jersey (ACNJ) - A project of New Jersey KIDS COUNT, which "is part of the national KIDS COUNT network, a state-by-state effort funded by the Annie E. Casey Foundation to track the status of children across the United States."
• Child Rights Information Network (CRIN) - A global network of children's rights organizations, "... committed to the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child and to sharing information with others."
• Child & Family WebGuide - A guide to websites with research-based information on children, child-rearing, parenting, and family issues. From Tufts University.
• Child Trends Databank - "The latest national trends and research on over 100 key indicators of child and youth well-being", provided by Child Trends.
• Families and Living Arrangements - Demographic statistics of households and families from U.S. Census Bureau.
• KIDS COUNT Data Center - "A project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, KIDS COUNT is the premier source for data on child and family well-being in the United States"
• Marriage & Family Processes - in A Sociological Tour Through Cyberspace.
• National Marriage Project - located at the University of Virginia, provides research and analysis on the health of marriage in America.
• National Survey of Family Growth - from CDC, statistics on family life, marriage and divorce, pregnancy, infertility, use of contraception, and men's and women's health.
• Sociology of Family and Children - in SocioSite.

Sociologists & Theories

• Amitai Etzioni's Articles in Professional Journals and Books - provided by the Institute for Communitarian Policy Studies at The George Washington University.
• Classical Sociological Theory - by the University of Chicago.
• Dead Sociologists Index - A list of the various theorists, biographical information, and a summary of their works.
• Famous Sociologists - in the SocioSite Project, by the faculty of Social Sciences at the University of Amsterdam.
• Great Social Theorists - by Frank W. Elwell, Rogers State University.
• Marxist Internet Archive - A non-profit public library.
• Sociological Theory and Theorists - in WWW Virtual Library: Sociology.
• A Sociological Tour Through Cyberspace: Matters of Theory - by Prof. Michael Kearl, Trinity University.

Sociological Methods & Statistics

• HyperStat Online Statistics Textbook - by David Lane, Professor of Rice University.
• Research Methods and Statistics - in A Sociological Tour Through Cyberspace.
• Research Methods Tutorials - Web projects that teach specific research methods, put together by the graduate students at Cornell University.
• Statnotes: Topics in Multivariate Analysis -G. David Garson's online textbook.
• StatSoft: Electronic Statistics Textbook -"Offers training in the understanding and application of statistics".
• Web Center for Social Research Methods - Resources and links that deal in applied social research methods, by Cornell Univ.

Professional Associations

• American Anthropological Association
• American Sociological Association
• American Society on Aging
• British Sociological Association
• International Sociological Association
• The Society for Applied Anthropology