Library Guides: Philosophy & Religion: Subject Guide

Recommended Databases: Philosophy & Religion

Use any combination of keywords, subjects, authors, or titles
Search results will include both print and electronic library holdings
Download fulltext e-books and e-journal articles easily
Locate print materials and DVDs in the library using the shelving locations, call numbers, collection guide, and map
Limit results by format, date, full-text, and peer-review
Search for books, journals, and articles in other libraries and request these items using Inter-library Loan
Use the Ask-a-Librarian feature to chat online or request assistance

Guide to Philosophy on the Internet - A search engine, covers the sites in philosophy.
The Basics of Philosophy - A huge subject broken down into manageable chunks, by Luke Mastin.
The Paideia Project - Proceedings of the Twentieth World Congress of Philosophy

Ancient Greece - Introductions and resources of Pre-Socratic Philosophy, Socrates, Plato, Aristotle, and Hellenistic Philosophy, as well as Greek history, mythology and more.
Greek philosophers - from The Livius.org website offers information on ancient history.
The Greek Philosophy Archive - Sections on Plato, Aristotle, Marcus Aurelius and many others, from the University of Georgia.
Plato and his Dialogues - A search engine and index for Plato studies.

Ancient Chinese philosophy - from Ancient History Encyclopedia
Essential Readings on Chinese Philosophy - A list of Chinese philosophy readings in English compiled by Bryan W. Van Norden.
Confucius - Biography videos
The Chuang-tzu or Chuangzi - Introduction to Chuang-tzu and translation of selected chapters by Lin Yutang.
Taoism - A guide to the ancient religious philosophy of Taoism.

History of Philosophy - detailed history of philosophy of all kinds.
History of Western Philosophy - A narrative survey.
A Quick History of Philosophy - A simplified history of Philosophy, by Luke Mastin.

10_Top_Philosophy_Blogs - from Study.com.
The Brains blog - A leading forum for work on topics in the philosophy and science of mind.
Public Reason - A blog for political philosophers.
In Socrates' Wake - A blog about teaching philosophy.

The Catholic Encyclopedia - More than 11,000 articles on Catholic topics.
A Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names - A concise guide to technical terms and personal names often encountered in the study of philosophy.
Dictionary of Philosophy of Mind - a free resource for all those interested in the philosophy of mind.
Guide to the World’s Philosophers - Philosophers.co.uk
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy - A searchable database of basic philosophy information and definitions.
Major figures in Western philosophy - A biography in Philosophy Pages.
Philosopher's Guide (Bjorn Christensson, Aachen) -- Capsule biographies and links to other Internet philosophy sites and E-texts.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy