History Matters- A gateway to web resources for learning and teaching U.S. history.
The History Net - Magazines published by the Cowles History Group.
A Guide to the American Revolution, 1763-1783- A collection of material associated with the American Revolution, including manuscripts, broadsides, government documents, books, and maps.
Colonial Currency-Descriptions and images of paper currencies of early America through the 1790's.
Colonial Williamsburg- Information on notable people, places, buildings, trades, Christmas in Williamsburg, "18th-century capital city of Britain - largest, wealthiest, and most populous outpost of empire in the New World."
MayflowerHistory.com- Information related to the Mayflower, the Pilgrims, and early Plymouth Colony.
The Debates in the Federal Convention of 1787- An annotated version of James Madison's journal, a document of the Constitutional Convention in Philadelphia; from the Constitution Society.
The Founders' Constitution- An anthology of documents from the 17th century through the 1830s about popular government in the United States.
National Constitution Center (NCC)- Resources of US Constitution's history and relevance for students and educators, and links for further research and other historical U.S. documents.
The Chinese in California, 1850-1925- A collection of images and primary source materials illustrating "nineteenth and early twentieth century Chinese immigration to California."
An American Exodus: Displacement in the 1930's - Brief documentation of the mass migrations of the 1930's caused by changes within the regionally varied agricultural traditions throughout the country.
CNN: Cold War-"In-depth information on subjects such as the Iron Curtain, Marshall Plan, Korean War, Sputnik, Cuba, Vietnam, China, and the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan."
Cold War International History Project (CWIHP) - A collection of historical materials and ongoing discussions by governments and scholars on all sides of the Cold War, by the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars.
The Cold War Museum- Virtual exhibits, photo galleries, newsletters and many other collections of cold war related material, by a non-profit organization.
Fast Attacks and Boomers: Submarines in the Cold War - This site explores nuclear powered submarines' roles in American policy and strategy during the years of the Cold War, from the Smithsonian National Museum of American History.
The American Presidency: A Glorious Burden- Official exhibit site of the Smithsonian's National Museum of American History. Traces the history and culture of the presidency from 1789 through 2001.
Public Papers of the Presiden- Presidential writings, addresses, and remarks of a public nature are available. It is provided by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration, began in 1957.
Martin Luther King, Jr. & the Civil Rights Movement- A biography, text of speeches and writings, some audio features, photographs, and a timeline of Dr. King's life and the civil rights movement. Also provides study guides, a quiz, and resource links, as well as reflections from others and an article about the holiday.
Battlefield: Vietnam-An overview of the Vietnam War by PBS, a timeline, information on Vietcong guerrilla tactics, a detailed look at the siege of Khe Sanh, as well as specifications of the aircraft deployed.
Vietnam War Era Ephemera Collection- "This database contains leaflets and newspapers that were distributed on the University of Washington campus during the decades of the 1960s and 1970s. They reflect the social environment and political activities of the youth movement in Seattle during that period."
Timelines: Sources from History- The British Library's project allows students to get a sense of change, continuity, and chronology when studying historical events.
Asia via the Web: Select Internet Resources- Searchable and browsable historical and contemporary documents, statistics, annotated lists of educational films, K-12 curriculum materials and more. From the Center for East Asian Studies, UCLA.
Asian Historical Architecture- Thousands of photographs of historical Asian architecture, browsable by country and city.
European
EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History- Links to Western European historical documents. Selected transcriptions and translations. Ordered by country and chronologically within each.
BBC: World War Two - "An in-depth examination of the most destructive conflict in history, from the rise of the Nazis to the atomic bombing of Hiroshima and the birth of a new world order."
Marines in World War II Commemorative Series- Articles with maps and chats, published for the education and training of Marines, as a part of the U.S. Department of Defense observance of the 50th anniversary of victory in that war.
World War II Links on the Internet - A list of links, organized under various thematic headings, by a history professor at the University of San Diego.
