Music Treasures Consortium- Access to some of the world's most valued music manuscript and print materials from six esteemed institutions.
Yahoo!: Music- music news and videos, interviews with popular musicians, reviews, and more. Represented styles include pop, hip-hop, rock, adult pop, country, and electronic/dance.
American Heritage Music: - From the Alfred Whital Stern Collection of Lincolniana.
Ceremonial Music- A collection of recordings "approved by the Department of the Air Force for use in public service broadcasting, recruiting, educational activities, and troop morale and retention." It includes "The Stars and Stripes Forever."
Broadway: The American Musical- Companion to a Public Broadcasting Service (PBS), "documentary series that chronicles the Broadway musical throughout the 20th century and explores the evolution of this uniquely American art form."
I Hear America Singing - Provides "the diversity of American performing arts through the Library of Congress's unsurpassed collections of scores, sheet music, audio recordings, films, photographs, maps, and other materials."
Poetry and Music of the War Between the States- A collection Union and Confederate poetry and songs indexed by title, author, and first line. Information about some of the authors is available.
J.S. Bach Home Page- Musicians' biographies, portraits, literature, complete works, recommended recordings and more.
Jazz:
America's Jazz Heritage - From the Smithsonian Institution Traveling Exhibits Service; present the history of jazz through exhibitions, performances, recordings, radio, publications, and educational programs.
Jazz at Lincoln Center- "Features performance schedules; information about JALC's extensive education programs for students, teachers, and families; news about the jazz world; and biographical sketches of artists who perform at the center. "
Jazz on the Screen- "This searchable filmography documents the work of some 1,000 major jazz and blues figures in over 14,000 cinema, television and video productions."
Smithsonian Jazz- "preserving and perpetuating jazz as an American national treasure -- through collections, exhibitions, performances, recordings, publications, oral histories, and educational programs."
MENC: The National Association for Music Education- Information on education standards, career opportunities, financial aid, state-run festivals, suppliers of music products, teacher's guides, early childhood music workshops and more.
MTNA: Music Teachers National Association- Contains a searchableTeacher Directory, an annotated Bibliography for musicians, information on student competitions, how to obtain MTNA Professional Certification through examinations, etc.
National Standards for Arts Education-A document which outlines basic arts learning outcomes integral to the comprehensive K-12 education of every American student.
Musictheory.net- A collection of music theory tutorials. lessons include staff, clef, and ledger lines; note and rest durations; measures and time signatures; major and minor scales; and more.
teoría - Music Theory Web- Articles, reference, interactive exercises, software, etc. for the study of music theory.
Aria Database- Information on over 1000 operatic arias.
Gilbert and Sullivan Archive - An archive includes a variety of G&S related items, including clip art, librettos, plot summaries, pictures, song scores, midi and more.
IBDB (Internet Broadway Database) - "IBDB archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today."
Early Music Online- A collection of digitised images of some of the world's oldest surviving volumes of printed music, by Royal Holloway University of London.
Ethnomusicology, Folk Music, and World Music- "A collection of links to Web resources about the study of folk and primitive music arranged by categories such as organizations, bibliography, recordings, and geographical region or ethnic group." From the University of Washington Music Library.
African American Sheet Music, 1820-1920- One of the largest collections of sheet music in in the United States. The sheet music has been selected from the Sheet Music Collection at the John Hay Library at Brown University.
