Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mathematics: Subject Guide

Library Research Resources

Featured Library Resources: Mathematics

Recommended Databases: Mathematics

Mathematics Education
Multidisciplinary Databases

Online Library Catalog: WorldCat Discovery

Selected Links

Comprehensive Guides

  • Ask Dr. Math - College Level Archive - A question and answer service for math students and their teachers.
  • Mathematics Archive - Organized Internet access to a wide variety of mathematical resources.
  • Mathematics WWW Virtual Library - Sorted in many categories, such as Addresses, Department Web Servers, High School Servers, Software, Specialized Fields, TeX Archives etc.
  • The Mathematical Atlas: A Gateway to Modern Mathematics - Short articles that introduce to the areas of modern mathematics and pointers to further information.

Algebra

  • College Algebra -- ACE Practice Tests - From Textbook Site for College Algebra 5th Ed.
  • College Algebra Review – ACE Practice Tests - From Mathematics Student Resource Center.
  • College Algebra - An excellent support site for those requiring additional college algebra support, provided by WTAMU.
  • College Algebra Tutorial - An online tutorial that shows you solving problems step by step.
  • S.O.S. MATHematics - Algebra - A resource of math review material for learning Algebra.
  • YouTube - College Algebra Tutorial Preview

Calculus

Lesson Plans for Math (K-12)

  • Ask ERIC Lesson Plans - A collection of math lesson plans for grades k-12.
  • Fun Mathematics Lessons By Cynthia Lanius - Math lessons for K-12.
  • Mathematics Lesson Plans - A large collection of lesson plans on math topics for grades k-12, from the Columbia Education Center.
  • edHelper-Math Lesson Plans - Curriculum for teaching math pre-school -12.
  • ExploreMath.com - Lesson plans and teaching ideas.
  • The ExplorerTM - A collection of educational resources (instructional software, lab activities, lesson plans, student created materials ...) for K-12 mathematics and science education.

Resources for Math Ed. (K-12)

  • AAA Math - Interactive practice and estimation games sorted by grade level and math topic.
  • American Mathematics Competitions (AMC) - Provides information about the AMC, how to register, and has practice problems.
  • ACEPT: Arizona Collaborative For Excellence In The Preparation Of Teachers - The
    ACEPT has implemented math and science reforms that are affecting the preparation of K-12 teachers in Arizona.
  • Balance - A great game for students K-2 that teaches algebra skills.
  • Educational Java Programs - Teaching programs in the areas of mathematics and science with emphasis in problem solving for grades K to 12.
  • FunBrain - Has games like "Math Baseball" and "Change Maker."
  • The Math Forum - An online center for mathematic education from Drexel University, provides resources, materials, activities, person-to-person interactions, and educational products and services.
  • PlaneMath - This site combines math with aeronautics.
  • Projects Ideas for mathematics learning and teaching - A part of TERC homepage. TERC is an education research and development organization in Cambridge, Massachusetts.
  • Principles and Standards for School Mathematics - NCTM Standards.
  • Teacher2Teacher (T2T®) - A resource for teachers and parents who have questions about teaching mathematics.
  • Word Problems For Kids - Word problems for different grade levels (5-12).

E-Reference (Freely Available)

  • Ask Dr. Math - A question and answer service for math students and their teachers.
  • Encyclopaedia of Mathematics - An online Encyclopaedia of Mathematics, by Michiel Hazewinkel.
  • MathWorld - A comprehensive and interactive mathematics encyclopedia.
  • The PRIME (Platonic Realms Mathematics Encyclopedia) - A Math encyclopedia including TOPICS: Basic Math, Algebra, Analysis, Biography, Calculus, Comp Sci, Discrete, Economics, Geometry, Graph Thry, History, Foundations, Number Thry.
  • Math Quotes - The Platonic Realms Interactive database of Math Quotations from the Math Academy.
  • The Mathematical Atlas: A Gateway to Modern Mathematics - A searchable site provides a collection of articles about the many subfields of math and includes definitions, brief biographies, and explanations.