Latin American, Caribbean & Latinx Studies: Subject Guide

Art & Literature:

Dance, Music & other Art

• Hispano Music & Culture of the Northern Rio Grande: The Juan B. Rael Collection - An online presentation of religious and secular music of Spanish-speaking residents of rural Northern New Mexico and Southern Colorado.
• Latin American Music and Dance - A brief introduction to latin American music and dance.
• Museum of Latin American Art (MoLAA) - The museum web site, dedicated to "contemporary Latin American art," provides information about the museum's history, exhibits, events, and more.
• The Roots of Tejano and Conjunto Music - Music excerpts, liner notes, and photos from University of Texas at Austin.

TOP

Literature

• Amerces Award for Children's and Young Adult Literature - This award "is given in recognition of U.S. works of fiction, poetry, folklore, or selected non-fiction ... published in the previous year in English or Spanish that authentically and engagingly portray Latin America, the Caribbean, or Latinos in the United States."
• Caribbean Literature - A guide by Yale University library.
• Latin American Open Archives Project: Providing Access to Latin American Grey Literature - provides access to working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials from the "deep Web."
• Mexican and Latin American Literature: Selected Sources - Provided by the Library of CSU Stanislaus.
• U.S. LATINO Literature: An Essay and Annotated Bibliography - by Marc Zimmerman.

Poets, Writers

• Albert Memmi - Introduction from Postcolonial Studies @ Emory.
• Cherrie Moraga - Biography and criticism from Voices from the Gaps Women Artists and Writers of Color.
• Gloria Anzaldua - Biography and criticism from Voices from the Gaps Women Artists and Writers of Color.
• Julia de Burgos - Introduction to a Puerto Rican woman writer.
• Puerto Rican Poetry - Introduction to Puerto Rican poets Judith Ortiz Cofer, Martin Espada, Sandra Maria Esteves and their poems, from PBS' Marsterpiece Theatre.
• Victor Villaseñor's Homepage - Biography, listings of books and works, book reviews, excerpts and more.

TOP

Readings recommended by Dr. Mirtha N. Quintanales

• Before We Were Free - Areaders’ guide to the novel.
• In the Time of the Butterflies - A summery
• The Latino Reader : An American Literary Tradition from 1542 to the Present (Paperback)
• When I Was Puerto Rican
• Bye Bye Brazil - An analysis.
• Strawberry & Chocolate - a New York Times review.
• Daughter of Invention - A story in How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents by Julia Alvarez.

Culture & Society:

• Celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month! - Scholastic Home.
• National Hispanic Heritage Month - brought by The Library of Congress and other organizations.
• Latin American Culture - Latin American cinema, literature, music, language and more.
• LANIC: Society & Culture - Directory
• Understanding the Hispanic Culture - from Ohio State University FactSheet/ Family and Consumer Sciences.

History:

General

• Latin American History - About Education.
• Alonzo de Ojeda on the coasts of Columbia and Panama (1499-1502) - From Athena Review Vol. I, no. 3.
• Colonial Latin America - From Fordham University.
• Conquistadors - A program in PBS web site, provides online educational resources of Spanish conquistadors and an Online Learning Adventure.
• The Consolidation of Latin America, 1830-1920 - Chapter summary.
• Latin America in the 19th Century - From Fordham University.
• Impacto, Influencia, Cambio: Science, Technology and Invention in Latin America and the Southwestern United States - This site "highlights the lives and accomplishments of inventors, aviators, astronauts, and the everyday people of Latin America and the southwestern United States who have affected science and technology." From the Smithsonian Office of Education.
• The Maya Astronomy Page - Explains many aspects of the ancient Maya, such as how their calendar and math worked.
• Parallel Histories: Spain and the United States - An English-Spanish digital library site that explores the interactions between Spain and the United States in America from the fifteenth to the early nineteenth centuries.
• Pre-Columbian civilizations - New World Encyclopedia.
• South America During the Last 150,000 Years - Compiled by Jonathan Adams, Environmental Sciences Division, Oak Ridge National Laboratory.

  Brazil

• Brazil - A full country overview and history.

TOP

Cuban

• History of Santiago de cuba city - a Cradle of the Cuban Revolution, Capital of the Caribbean, The Hero City in Cuba.
• History of Cuba - One World nations Online.
• The Cuban Missile Crisis - Historical releases, documents, photographs, audio clips and other material about the Cuban Missiles Crisis.
• CUBA IN 1898

  Haitian

• Haitian Revolution

  Mexico

• History of Mexico - From Wikipedia.
• The Battle of the Alamo As Seen by the Mexicans - Digital History.
• Mexican War and Annexation - Office of the Historian, Department of State.
• Simon Bolivar - Illustrations of the Mexican liberator.
• Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo
• U.S.- Mexican War - A historical program in PBS web site.

TOP

Puerto Rico

• 35% of Puerto Rican Women Sterilized (undated probably, late 1970's - the CWLU Herstory Weside Archive.
• Puerto Rico: A TImeline - PBS.
• Puerto Rico in 1898
• Operation Bootstrap - About the transformation of Puerto Rico from a rural to an industrial society during the 1950’s and 1960’s
• Puerto Rican Emigration: Why the 1950's? - A chart and analysis of emigration from Puerto Rico.
• Sterilization of Puerto Rican Women - A Selected, Partially Annotated Bibliography.

TOP

US - Latin America and the Caribbean Relations

• The Annexation of Texas - Office of the Historian, Department of State.
• A Chronology - U.S. intervention in Latin America and the Caribbean - Marc's House of Knowledge.
• Documents Relating to American Foreign Policy - Mount Holyoke College.
• The Dominican Dictator: Rafael Trujillo - HISTORY.com.
• Economic Embargo Timeline
• A History of Mexican Americans in California - National Park Service History Program.
• Louisiana Purchase
• Manifest Destiny and Westward Expansion - The History Teaching Institute at The Ohio State University.
• The Panama Canal
• Rethinking History and the Nation State: Mexico and the United States - Articles, timeline, maps, a special issue of the Journal of American History, and more.
• The Spanish-American War - Library of Congress.
• Territorial Expansion, Filibustering, and U.S. Interest in Central America and Cuba, 1849-1861 - Office of the Historian, Department of State.
• Time Line of US-Latin American Relations - NC State University.
• WILLIAM HOWARD TAFT : Dollar Diplomacy
• United States and Latin America - Published by Council on Foreign Relations.
• U.S. intervention in Latin America

Economy & Business:

• Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC) - Research, cooperation, statistical information, training, publications, calendar of activities, and more.
• Inter-American Development Bank - A long-standing initiative of the Latin American countries.
• LatinFocus: The Leading Source for Latin American Economies - Latest available data from government sources, economic forecasts, market analysis, various economic indicators (GDP, unemployment, CPI, stock market, exports, imports), recent news , fact, etc.
• Organization of American States - OAS brings together the countries of the Western Hemisphere to strengthen cooperation and advance common interests.
• U.S.-Central America Free Trade Agreement (CAFTA) - The Office of the United States Trade Representative.

Immigration & Border Issues:

• 11 facts for National Hispanic Heritage Month
• the Bracero Program - Very useful information on the Bracero Program of the 1940’s.
• The City - La Ciudad - An online companion to the PBS documentary, "Presents four vignettes depicting the struggles of Latin American immigrants in New York City." Explores education, workers' rights, women and immigration and cultural stereotypes and myths surrounding immigrants.
• Cultural Identities on the Mexico-U.S. Border - by Jose Manuel Valenzuela Arce, a native of Tecate, Baja California, received his Ph.D. from El Colegio de Mexico.
• Facts for features: Hispanic Heritage Month - Statistics on US Latinos from the Census Bureau's demographic and economic subject areas.
• The Hispanic Population in the United States - Demographics from the U.S. Census Bureau (2002)..
• LANIC: Immigration & Migration
• The Mexican rebellion and NAFTA - An article from Peace Magazine.
• United States-Mexico Borderlands/Frontera - Authored by Olivia Cadaval, the curator of the Festival's United States Alexiro Borderlands program.

Youtube Videos:

• Latin American Culture
• Latin American History
• Latin American Literature
• Latin American Revolutions Documentary
• Latin American Studies