Criminal Justice & Law: Subject Guide

Child Abuse

• Child Abuse: Statistics, Research, and Resources - by Jim Hopper, Ph.D., a researcher and therapist.
• Child Welfare Information Gateway - Responding to Child Abuse & Neglect - Information on reporting suspected child abuse and neglect; intake, investigation, and assessment of reports; case management and more.
• Children's Rights Council - Children's Bill of Right, benefits in divorce, etc.
• MedlinePlus: Child Abuse - Links to information about child abuse and neglect. Topics include diagnosis, treatment, prevention, research, organizations, law and policy, and statistics.
• Prevent Child Abuse America - A description of advocacy efforts, research publications, prevention tips, event listings and more.

Criminal Justice Service

• ACLU - American Civil Liberties Union's web page: Know your rights.
• The National Center for Victims of Crime - A nonprofit organization, provides service and help for crime victims.
• Office for Victims of Crime - One of seven components within the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice.

Corrections

• American Probation and Parole Association (APPA) - An international association involved with probation, parole and community-based corrections.
• National Institute of Corrections (NIC) - An agency within the U.S. Department of Justice, Federal Bureau of Prisons, provides training, technical assistance, information services, and policy/program development assistance to Federal, State, and local corrections agencies.
• The New Jersey Department of Corrections (NJDOC) - Information on the NJ Department of Corrections and links to the Commissioner's biography, Fallen Officers Memorial, Critical Incident Stress Management , etc.
• Prison Fellowship International - A global association of over 100 national Prison Fellowship organisations.

Courts

• National Center for State Courts (NCSC) - A nonprofit organization, provides research, education, consulting and information services.
• New Jersey Courts - the Judiciary, or court system
• United States Courts - Court Role and Structure
• Supreme Court of the United States

Government Agencies

• United States Department of Justice - About DOJ, publications, employment, grants, Fugitives & Missing Persons &  more.
• Central Intelligence Agency - (US CIA)  An independent agency, responsible to the President through the DCI, and accountable to the American people through the intelligence oversight committees of the U.S. Congress.
• Federal Bureau of Investigation  - FBI is the principal investigative arm of the United States Department of Justice (DOJ).
• Office of Justice Programs (OJP) - Under US Department of Justice, provides innovative leadership to to federal, state, local, and tribal justice systems.
• National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) - a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
• National Institute of Justice (NIJ) - Research, development and evaluation agency of the U.S. Department of Justice.
• NJ Department of Law and Public Safety - Office of Attorney General - Division of Criminal Justice.

International Justice

• European Institute for Crime Prevention and Control - To promote the international exchange of information on crime prevention and control among European countries.
• Global Justice Information Sharing Initiative - Serves as a Federal Advisory Committee (FAC) and advises the U.S. Attorney General on justice information sharing and integration initiatives.
• INTERPOL: Connecting Police for a Safer World
• International Centre for the Prevention of Crime - A forum and resource center dedicated to the exchange of ideas and knowledge on crime prevention and community safety.
• International Justice Statistics - Comprehensive site of BJS publications as well as links to UN publications.
• Organization of American States - To achieve among its member states — "an order of peace and justice..."
• Terrorism, Transnational Crime and Corruption Center - TraCCC is a research center within the School of Public Policy at George Mason University.
• United Nations Interregional Crime and Justice Research Institute - An UN entity established to support countries worldwide in crime prevention and criminal justice.
• United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) - A global leader in the fight against illicit rugs and international crime.

Juvenile Delinquency & Juvenile Justice

• National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges - Services for the nation's children and families by improving the courts of juvenile and family jurisdictions.
• Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention - National leadership, coordination, and resources to prevent and respond to juvenile delinquency and victimization.
• Prevention and Early Intervention -- NJ Juvenile Justice Commission - JDAI Annual Reports, statistics and more.

Law & Attorney

• Criminal Attorneys - Criminal Attorneys and Law Information Including top criminal justice articles, the basics of law, faq's and much more.
• FindLaw - International Resources - Country information, constitutions from around the world, etc.
• FindLaw - Law Library  - Collection of articles categorized by subject area.
• Global Legal Monitor (GLM) - An online publication from the Law Library of Congress covering legal news and developments worldwide.
• Laws.com - Laws.com is aimed at stopping, reporting, and preventing all types of crime, while also providing information on both state and federal laws.
• Law Offices from Martindale - Provides an array of resources for private-practice lawyers, in-house counsel, legal support personnel, and law students.
• New Jersey Legislature - Statutes, Chapter Laws, Constitution.
• the RAND Corporation - Civil justice aims to help make the civil justice system more efficient and more equitable.
• State Statutes on the Internet - Guide to state statutes on many topics from agriculture to water codes.

Policing

• New Jersey State Police
• COPS (The Office of Community Oriented Policing Services, US DOJ) - A component within the U.S. Department of Justice dedicated to community policing.
• Officer.com - provides police departments' web pages; a good place to see if departments have any info on local criminal justice issues. 
• Police Foundation - to help the police be more effective in doing their job.

Restorative Justice

• ANU Centre for Restorative Justice - the world leader in experimental and theoretical research on the design and cost-effectiveness of restorative responses to crime.
• Australian Institute of Criminology - Seeks to promote justice and reduce crime by undertaking and communicating evidence-based research to inform policy and practice.
• FPU Center for Peacemaking and Conflict Studies - Restorative Justice Project
• International Institute for Restorative Practices (IIRP) - A private standalone accredited graduate school.
• Longmont Community Justice Partnership - A nonprofit organization, provides restorative justice services for the community and schools.
• Real Justice - Restorative Justice Conferencing - Scripted process brings together offenders, victims and communities of support to repair harm and promote healing.
• Restorative Justice Centre - An important provider of restorative justice services in South Africa.

Statistics

• Bureau of Justice Statistics - Statistics of crime related issues by Bureau of Justice Statistics, U.S. Department of Justice.
• Crime and criminal justice statistics from UNODC
• Justice Research and Statistics Association (JRSA) - Dedicated to the use of nonpartisan research and analysis to inform criminal and juvenile justice decisionmaking.
• New Jersey Uniform Crime Report - Compilation, classification, analysis of crime data reported by all New Jersey police agencies.
• Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics - by Hindelang Criminal Justice Research Center, University at Albany.
• U. S. Sentencing Commission - Research and Statistics - Annual Report & Sourcebook of Federal Sentencing Statistics
• United Nations Surveys on Crime Trends and the Operations of Criminal Justice Systems - A collection of statistics on crime at the international level.

Laws, Statutes, Legislation:

• New Jersey Statutes
• New Jersey Bills (for Bills from 1996+)
• New Jersey Legislative Histories

Case Law:

• N. J. Supreme Court
• New Jersey Court Rules

Guides & Directories:

• Find Law
• Guide to Law Online - by the Law Library of Congress.
• Internet Legal Resource Guide™ - Index of select web sites, legal forms and documents.
• Legislative Information - Access to a wide variety of Congressional material. 

Encyclopedia, Dictionary & Handbook:

• Handbook of Forensic Sciences - Guidance and procedures for safe and efficient methods of collecting and preserving evidence and to describe the forensic examinations performed by the FBI Laboratory.
• Legal Lexicon's Lyceum - A Law Dictionary with Thousands of Definitions & Explanations of Legal Terms, Phrases & Concepts.
• Nolo's Free Dictionary of Law Terms and Legal Definitions