Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Computer Science: Subject Guide

Guarini Library Resources on Computer Science

Subject Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

Related Databases

Journals & E-Journals Available Through the Guarini Library

Books & E-Books (Available Through the Guarini Library)

E-Books & Texts (Freely Available)

Reference & E-Reference (Available Through the Guarini Library)

Selected Links

NJCU Computer Science Department

Comprehensive

  • The Computer Visions Homepage - Computer related resources.
  • EEVL: The Internet Guide to Engineering, Mathematics and Computing - by information specialists the UK.
  • Google Web Directory -Computer Science
  • The Virtual Library:Computing
  • Yahoo! - Computer Science

Artificial Intelligence

  • Artificial Intelligence Publications - from The Institute for Information Technology.
  • Game AI Page - public-domain repository of Games AI code and theory.
  • Marvin Minsky - MIT professor; provides abstracts, bibliography, and biography.

Career & Employment

Computing Research & Learning Theory

  • ACL: Association for Computational Learning - A research field devoted to studying the design and analysis of algorithms for making predictions about the future based on past experiences.
  • Computing in Science and Engineering - interdisciplinary field of computational science.
  • John Case's COLT Page - resources related to COLT.
  • National Partnership for Advanced Computational Infrastructure (NPACI) - team of computer and computational scientists overseeing the formation of a researcher-focused national computational infrastructure.
  • Theory of Computation Group - The Theory of Computation (TOC) Group, a part of the MIT Laboratory for Computer Science.

Databases

  • Database and Information Systems - LMU Institute for Computer Science, research projects.
  • Data Systems Group - traditional relational database systems, complex objects, geometric data, text, and real-time data.
  • Data Mining Resources - a collection of Data Mining links.
  • Data Modelling - Explains the value of data modelling in an application analysis project.
  • Oracle Corporation - internet-enabled database, tools, and application products, along with related consulting, education, and support services.
  • University of Washington Database Research - database techniques for the web and the management of heterogeneous and semistructured data, theoretical issues relating to complexity and query containment.

Graphics

  • Google Web Directory - Graphics
  • GoGraph - Source of Web graphics.
  • Graphical User Interface Gallery - a GUI list, with timeline, screenshots, downloads, links. Very useful resource for students of computer interfaces.
  • Open GL - a premier environment for developing portable, interactive 2D and 3D graphics applications.

History & Human-Computer Interaction (HCI)

Network & Telecommunications

  • Community Connector - a project of the University of Michigan School of Information Community Networking Initiative.
  • Computer Networking Resource Center - news, articles and company profiles.
  • Internetworking Technology Handbook - supported by Cisco.
  • Telecommunication related resources - from University of Pennsylvania Library.

Organizations

Programming Languages

  • Google Web Directory - Programming Languages - links to extensive set of programming languages web sites, organized by specific language.
  • Programmers Heaven - programming related web surfing and file downloading.
  • Borland C++Builder - tool applications for building Windows and Internet.
  • Dr.Bob's C++Builder Gate - news, technical articles, tips and tricks, events and seminars, tools and source code, book and third-party tool reviews for Borland C++Builder Inprise.
  • MVP VisualC++ FAQ - Answers to several frequently asked questions about Visual C++, MFC and Windows development in C/C++.
  • Java.Sun.com - Sun Microsystems' Java website.
  • Java Boutique - tutorials, articles, reviews.
  • Java Naming and Directory Interface (JNDI) Overview - articles from Java World.
  • Java Security Problems- study in computer security problems.
  • JavaRanch - prepare for Java certification with the Rule Roundup game.
  • jGuru.com - FAQs with community forums, self-paced training, and news from the field.
  • Joe Bank's Java Security Paper - security issues raised by the Java language.
  • Micro Java Network - news, downloads, and other resources.
  • What's J2ME? - from the O'Reilly Network.
  • Visual Basic resources -Visual Basic-specific information resources.

Software

  • Google Web Directory - Software - Software categorized by letter.
  • FreeOS - articles, documentation, links and news about Linux and other operating systems.
  • IBM Redbooks - details of a project to implement IBM software and hardware, conference presentation material, introductory textbooks on a specific IBM hardware or software product, and more.
  • Linuxnewbie.org - online forum brings users of all levels the most current information on Linux.
  • SCO Home Page - The world's leading provider of UNIX server operating systems and a global leader in business system software for Network Computing.
  • UnixWare Frequently Asked Questions - UnixWare Frequently Asked Questions.