Education and Teaching: Selected Websites

Children's Literature

• 50 Multicultural Books Every Child Should Know - CCBC Booklists, School of Education at the University of Wisconsin-Madison
• Authors and Illustrators on the Web - An  older (1998) source of information about children's writers and illustrators.
• BookHive: Your Guide to Children's Literature & Books - Searchable site with recommendations provided by the librarians.
• Children's Literature - Provides teachers, librarians, childcare providers and parents with appropriate literary choices for children. The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database can be accessed through database lists from the NJCU Library main page.
• Children's Literature Awards - Book lists of medal winners by The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC).
• Children's Literature Web Guide - Older (2001)web guide, comprehensive but many dead links.
• Database of Award-winning Children's Literature - Search award books via keyword or phrase, reading level, genre, language, historical period, gender of the protagonist, and ethnicity of the protagonist.
• The Horn Book - Selected articles of the current issue of The Horn Book, and other useful resources for parents, authors and illustrators.
• Orbis Pictus Award for Outstanding Nonfiction for Children from NCTE (National Council of Teachers of English)
• Teacher Book Wizard™ - by Scholastic Inc - "includes levels for the four most commonly used systems: Grade Level Equivalent, The Lexile Framework® for Reading, Guided Reading, and DRA".

Distance Education

• ACRL& ALA's Distance Learning Section - ACRL Guidelines, Statistics, Resources, etc. for Distance Learning Library Services.
• Course Management Systems/Technologies - An Overview of Online Educational Delivery Applications.
• Distance Education 6: Barriers to Distance Education - By Arthur Levine and Jeffrey C. Sun.
• Distance Education and Training Council - Information about the distance study/correspondence field.
• Distance Learning Resources - From Distance Learning Section, ACRL.
• MIT Open Courseware - A free and open educational resource for faculty, students, and self-learners around the world.
• Publications & Products on Distance Learning - from The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES).
• A Teacher’s Guide to Distance Learning - Originally produced under a grant from the Florida Department of Education, Office of Educational Technology, and the Florida Information Resource Network, The Honorable Tom Gallagher, Commissioner of Education.
• The World Lecture Hall - A collection of source materials for instructional use from the University of Texas at Austin.Learning Objects/Multimedia Course Materials

Learning Objects/Multimedia Course Materials

• Academic Earth - Videos and podcasts for higher education.
• Instructional Use of Learning Objects - Online version of a new book that connects learning objects to instructional design theory: A definition, a metaphor, and a taxonomy.
• MERLOT Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching - A free online learning resource with annotations designed for faculty and students of higher education.
• MIT OpenCourseWare - A free and open educational resource for faculty, students, and self-learners around the world.
• TeacherTube - Multimedia teaching resources.
• YouTube EDU - Free educational videos and podcasts.

Educational Testing & Standards

• Buros Center for Testing - Use this site to locate tests or reviews of tests.
• CAEP Council for Accreditation of Educator Preparation - - Standard of excellence in teacher preparation.
• Educational Testing Service Network - Links to information on each of the major educational tests: SAT, AP, CLEP, GRE, GMAT, TOEFL, PRAXIS, SLS, and Higher Education Assessment.
• Common Core and PARCC resources - All things CCSS and PARCC.
• CRESST: National Center for Research on Evaluation, Standards, and Student Testing - Key topics related to K-12 educational testing and standards.
• National Standards - by Education World, links to educational standards or guidelines to be used on a national level.
• New Jersey Student Learning Standards     

Early Childhood Education

• Association for Childhood Education International (ACEI) - Resources for educators and efforts for the needs of children in a changing society.
• Division of Early Childhood Education (DECE) of the New Jersey - Working with PK3 programs across the DOE, the DECE is responsible for the development, implementation, and alignment of program components with a focus on standards, curricula, and assessment.
• Early Childhood and Parenting (ECAP) Collaborative - Projects, research, technical assistance, and services.
• Early Childhood and Pre-school - Selected links from the ipl2.
• Education - Early Childhood and Family Education - UN Education College programs.
• Environmental Kids Club - Multimedia educational resources from U. S. Environmental Protection Agency.
• National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) - Information for teachers and administrators, hot topics in promoting excellent in early childhood education.
• NIEER: The National Institute for Early Education Research - supports early childhood education initiatives by providing objective, nonpartisan information based on research; by Rutgers Univ.
• The Partnership for Family Involvement In Education - A work that addresses issues, provides information, expands professional development, and offers opportunities for sharing and networking, all in the area of educating America's children.
• Foundation for Child Development -- Resource Library - Searchable materials published by FCD and its grantees.
• Teaching Strategies - Comprehensive curriculum, assessment, training and education for early childhood education.
• Zero to Three - National reading resources on first years life.

General

• Purdue University Copyright Office- (A Good Overview)
• University of Michigan Library
• Copyright Learning Engine, U.S. Copyright Office- Videos

Copyright for Teachers

• Copyright in the K-12 Classroom - Rachel Cannaday - UTSA Library
• Copyright for Educators - Heather Toner, Sep. 27, 2016
• American Libraries- Online Story Times
• Publishers Permissions for Readalouds- Extended- 9/6/2020

Copyright in Education

• Campus Guide to Copyright Compliance - Designed for academic institutions, this guide helps answer questions ranging from basic copyright law to the more complex topics of ILL and e-reserves.
• Copyright Clearance Center: Permissions Made Easy - Academic Permissions Services, Electronic Course Content Service (includes Distance Learning), Republication Licensing Service, Rightslink, and Transactional Reporting Service.
• Copyright and Fair Use Guidelines for Teachers - From the California Student Media Festival website.
• Fair Use of Copyrighted Materials - Copyright tutorial and fair use guidelines from UT.

Educational Law

• Education Law Center - Focuses on improving public education for disadvantaged children, children with disabilities and other special needs. ELC uses a wide variety of strategies, including public education and engagement, policy initiatives, research, communications and legal action.
• New Jersey Department of Education -- School Law - Current legal decisions of the Commissioner of Education, the State Board of Education, the School Ethics Commission and the State Board of Examiners.

TEACH Act

• Distance Education and the TEACH Act - A thorough analysis of the TEACH Act with a brief legislative history before enactment, provided ALA.
• TEACH Act comparison (Sections 110(1)-(2)) - by Laura N. Gasaway.
• The TEACHact Toolkit - From NC State University.

NJCU Copyright Policy & related Guidelines

• New Jersey City University Copyright Policy & Related Guidelines

Educational Statistics and Research

• 2011 GLOBAL EDUCATION DIGEST-- Comparing Education Statistics Across the World
• Census in Schools - A project of US Census Bureau.
• Condition of Education - Tables, charts, and graphs about topics such as popular subject areas for education and student performance.
• Education at a Glance 2019 - From the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development.
• Education Finance Statistics Center - Surveys, reports, and other government information on U.S. elementary and secondary public and private education finance, as well as graphs and charts depicting national and state comparison data.
• National Assessment of Educational Progress: The Nation's Report Card - A "nationally representative, continuing assessment of what America's students know and can do in various subject areas."
• National Center for Education Statistics - (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing education data in US and other nations.
• Trends in International Mathematics and Science Study (TIMSS) - Provides reliable and timely data on the mathematics and science achievement of U.S. 4th- and 8th-grade students compared to that of students in other countries.
• Working Papers -- in Education Research Section - Full-text research papers in the Education Research Section, an interdisciplinary unit within Princeton's Industrial Relation Section and the Woodrow Wilson School. 

Educational Technology

     NJCU ET programs

• Educational Technology Programs in NJCU
• Ed. D Christopher Shamburg's web page

  ET related documents

• Educational Technology Integration Program Skills Set Matrix - Outlines many of the skills that are covered in certificate programs in Educational Technology Integration, provided by the PSU.
• Educational Computing and Technology Standards for Technology Facilitation Initial Endorsement - by International Society for Technology in Education. (ISTE)
• The ISTE Standards for Students - by International Society for Technology in Education.
• The ISTE Standards for Teachers - by International Society for Technology in Education.
• National Education Technology Plan 2020 - U.S. Department of Education .
• Technology Facilitation (TF) Rubric - by Professor David Shutkin, John Carroll University
• Technology tools for data-driven teachers - by Dr. Scott McLeod, Director, School Technology Leadership Initiative, University of Minnesota.
• Visions 2020.2: Student Views on transforming Education and Training through Advanced Technologies - in U.S. Department of Commerce and the U.S. Department of education NetDay. August 2005.

ET related Organizations:

• AACE: Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education - An international, educational, and professional organization.
• The Center for Digital Education - A national research and advisory institute specializing in K-12 and higher education technology trends, policy and funding.
• EDUCAUSE - A great resource for information technology issues in higher education.
• Educational Technology NJ - Department of Education.
• ISTE: International Society for Technology in Education - A nonprofit organization dedicated to supporting the use of information technology to aid in learning, teaching of K-12 students and teachers.
• ITEEA: International Technology and Engineering Educators Association - This is the professional organization that wrote Technological Literacy Standards cited by NJ Department of Education.
• Office of Educational Technology - Office of the Secretary of Education, U.S. Department of Education.
• SITE: Society for Information Technology & Teacher Education - promotes the development and dissemination of theoretical knowledge, conceptual research, and professional practice knowledge through the SITE conference, books, collaborative projects with other organizations, and the Journal of Technology and Teacher Education.
• TeachTechNJ.org - Recruiting individuals to the profession of teaching Technology Education in New Jerse.

Online Resources

• 4teachers.org: For teachers powering learning with technology - Helps teachers to integrate technology into thier classrooms by offering online tools and resources.
• Berkman Center for Internet & Society at Harvard University - A research center, premised to explore and understand cyberspace; to study its development, dynamics, norms, and standards; and to assess the need or lack thereof for laws and sanctions.
• Digital Textbook Playbook - A guide to help K-12 educators and administrators begin building rich digital learning experiences for students in districts across the country.
• DiRT Digital Research Tools - Collection of digital research tools.
• EdITLib Education & Information Technology Digital Library - An online resource of peer-reviewed and published international journal articles and conference papers on Educational Technology and E-Learning. To access the full text articles, you need to be a current individual subscriber.
• Educational Technology Guy - An ET specialist's blog.
• National Center on Universal Design for Learning - Supports the effective implementation of UDL principles by connecting stakeholders in the field and providing resources and information.
• MERLOT Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching - A free online learning resource with annotations designed for faculty and students of higher education.
• OpenNet Initiative - A collaborative partnership of three institutions, aims to investigate, expose and analyze Internet filtering and surveillance practices.
• Pew Internet - A project of the Pew Research Center, a nonpartisan, nonprofit "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world, such as research report "College students and technology".
• Solution Centers - in Campus Technology.
• TeacherTube - Multimedia teaching resources.
• YouTube EDU - Free educational videos and podcasts.

Government & Organization Web Sites:

• American Association of School Administration - AASA, founded in 1865, is the professional organization for over 14,000 educational leaders across America and in many other countries.
• Government Databases in Education & Children - Selected government databases pertaining to education and other children's issues.
• International Reading Association - Programs, choices booklists, RRQ online (subscription required), and more.
• National Association for the Education of Young Children - Early childhood resources in books, videos, CDs/DVD, Annual Conference in Chicago, Information for Families and more.
• The National Council of Teachers of English - Information on books, journals, conferences related to English teaching.
• The National School Boards Association - NSBA is the nationwide advocacy and outreach organization for public school governance.
• National Education Association - NEA is America's oldest and largest organization committed to advancing the cause of public education.
• New Jersey Council of County vocational-technical Schools - Information about New Jersey's 21 county vocational-technical school districts.
• U. S. Department of Education - Links to programs, policy, funding and much more.

Lesson Plans & Curricula

General

• Lesson Plans - From ReadWriteThink classroom resources.
• Classroom Materials from the Library of Congress-Lesson plans, presentations, and primary sources sets for classroom use, compiled by the Library of Congress.
• Curriculum Areas - Children's literature in the curriculum, from Carol Hurst's Children's Literature.
• Curriculum Materials Library - From Grand Valley State University.
• Federal Resources for Educational Excellence - Curriculum resources arranged by topic.
• The Lesson Plans Page - For PreK-12 teachers.
• New York Times Learning Network - Resource for teachers, students and parents including lesson plans, vocabulary and geography builders and more.

Special Topic

• Asia for educators - An East Asian curriculum project provided by Columbia University.
• Black Lives Matter/ George Floyd- K-12 Resources on Black History, racism and anti-racism
• K-12 Music Education Resources at the Library of Congress A Bibliographic Guide to Materials and Collections for Educational Instruction -An eBook of web resources and lesson plans
• Links to Art teacher websites - From Mrs. Weber's Art Class.
• National Geographic Xpeditions - Lesson plans k-12.
• Statistics in Schools-Census.gov- PreK-12 activities.
• Teachable moment.org - Provides educators with timely teaching ideas to encourage critical thinking on issues of the day. It is a project of Educators for Social Responsibility Metropolitan Area.
• Teaching Tolerance- Lessons on social justice and anti-bias
• Teaching Earth Science: A Collection of Classroom Activities and Lesson Plans -A list of teacher res

Multicultural Education

• Center for Multicultural Education - At the University of Washington, focuses on research projects and activities designed to improve practice related to equity issues, intergroup relations, etc.
• Country Studies - Federal Research Division, Library of Congress.
• Electronic Magazine of Multicultural Education - Twice a year for international scholars, practitioners, and students of multicultural education.
• Multicultural Education and Ethnic Groups: Selected Internet Sources - Web resources concerning multicultural education and diversity.
• Multicultural Education Links - A guide of over 50 web sites created to assist multicultural educators.
• Multicultural Pavilion - Sections include teacher's corner, curriculum reform, teacher action research, Ed change research, etc.
• National Association for Multicultural Education - Conference information, hot topics, resource center, and more.
• A Synthesis of Scholarship in Multicultural Education - An article in North Central Regional Educational Laboratory web.

ESL: English as a Second Language

• 50 Top Resources for ESL Teachers -Categorized in Comprehensive, Listening, Reading and Writing, Grammar, Citizenship and Civics, Games, etc.
• Colorin Colrado - A bilingual site with booklists and resources focusing on multicultural and ELL materials, themes and literature
• Dave Sperling's ESL Cafe - A lot of things to do and places to explore for ESL teachers and students.
• everthingESL.net -Lesson plans, teaching tips, resource picks and more.
• Interesting Things - Site Map - A Web site for students of ESL, provides a lot of interactive games to build vocabulary.
• Lanternfish - Worksheets, and Flashcards for the ESL and TEFL Teacher.
• Resources for working with English language learners - Links to assessment of language minority students, ESL resources for teachers, professional development and more, provided by CARLA.
• Sites with general ESL listening activities & pronunciation - Links for listening and pronunciation.

Online Audio Resources

• NPR (National Public Radio) - An internationally acclaimed producer and distributor of noncommercial news, talk, and entertainment programming.
• Radio Diaries - is committed to helping people share their stories and their lives in their own words.
• Story Corps - Listen to stories, record your story, bring story corps to your community, special initiatives, share stories, and more.
• American Rhetoric - Huge selection of Speeches items.

Multicultural Education Programs in NJCU

• Multicultural Education Programs in NJCU - Department information.
• Multicultural Education Course Catalog

New Jersey Education:

• Abbott History - in New Jersey Department of Education Archives - Introduction to Abbott v. Burke Decisions, Abbott Regulations, State-Operated School Districts, related research resources, archives and more.
• Common Core Standards and PARCC - Common Core State Standards (CCSS) / Model Curriculum / Partnership for Assessment of Readiness for College and Careers (PARCC)
• Hall Institute of Public Policy - NJ - Education - It examines NJ educational system and explores issues, providing white paper documents, research essay documents, and Op Ed documents.
• JCPS Joint Committee on the Public Schools -New Jersey Legislature - provides an ongoing study of the system of free public schools.
• New Jersey Association of School Administrators
• New Jersey Student Learning Standards
• New Jersey Department of Education
• New Jersey Department of Education -- School Law - Current legal decisions of the Commissioner of Education, the State Board of Education, the School Ethics Commission and the State Board of Examiners.
• New Jersey Educator Resource Exchange - Provides instructional materials aligned to the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) and New Jersey Core Curriculum Content Standards (NJCCCS).
• New Jersey School Boards Association

Autism

• Autism Resources - Information and links to autism-related web sites.
• Autism Research Institute - Research on the causes of autism and methods of preventing, diagnosing and treating autism.
• Autism and School Based Programming - Programming for students diagnosed with autism or low-functioning Pervasive Development Disorder.
• The Autism Society of America - Nationwide support group that promotes lifelong access and opportunities for persons within the autism.
• Global Autism Collaboration - Information about autism and research on the efficacy of various therapeutic interventions.
• SERI Autism Resources
• Yahoo Autism Resources

SE Tools & Technology:

• The American Printing House for the Blind - Provides special media, tools, products, and services needed for students with visual disabilities.
• Autism Coach - advice, software, supplements and dietary products to help children within the autism spectrum.
• Assistive Learning Technologies - Computer hardware and software designed and developed specifically for individuals with learning disabilities.
• Best Prices at Assistive Technologies - computer access solutions: Eye/voice recognition, talking computers, head controlled mice.
• Effective Communication Solutions - Woodlake Technologies is your source for assistive technology solutions. We have products to promote literacy, vocabulary development, math and science skills and critical thinking.
• National Early Childhood Technical Assistance System (NECTAS) - Works to improve services and results for young children with disabilities and their families. 

Attention Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder(AD/HD)

• ADD ADHD Information Library - Information on ADHD organized into 10 easy lessons.
• Born to Explore! The Other Side of ADD - Positive and alternative information about ADD/ ADHD including creativity, giftedness, temperament diversity, allergies and more.
• Children and Adults with Attention Deficit Disorders (CH.A.D.D.) - Science-based information about AD/HD.
• Frontline: Medicating Kids - A report on parents, educators, and doctors involved with the mental diagnosis ADHD.
• Internet Mental Health: Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder - Diagnosis, treatment, and research including booklets and magazine articles.
• Living with ADD - Book recommendations, tips, stories, and links.
• Mental Help Net - ADHD - Guide to online resources, support, treatment information, and symptoms.
• Quick Facts on ADHD--Child Mind Institute - A brief overview of the signs and symptoms, and how it's treated, in children and adolescents.

Comprehensive

• Council for Exceptional Children - CEC " is the largest international professional organization dedicated to improving the educational success of individuals with disabilities and/or gifts and talents."
• ERIC Database - Released Sep. 2004, provides more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966 and more than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-2004).
• Internet Special Education Resources - A directory of professionals serving special educational needs.
• National Dissemination Center for Children with Disabilities - A national information and referral center that provides information on disabilities and related issues.
• School Psychology Resources Online - School psychology resources in learning disabilities, ADHD, and more.
• Uniquely Gifted Especially for Kids - contains personal stories, advocacy articles, email lists/chat rooms/bulletin boards, websites, and books/magazines.

Dyslexia

• 37 Common Characteristics of Dyslexia
• Davis Dyslexia Association International - Promoting an understanding of dyslexia and potential for genius.
• Dyslexia Testing Service - Provides a dyslexia assessment testing package.
• National Center of Learning Disabilities -- Dyslexia - Strategies for pupils who are, or may be, dyslexic.
• Dyslexia Treatment: Reading Upgrade - Web-based reading course for dyslexia, ages 8 to adult.
• Dyslexic.Com - Information on the technology available to dyslexic people.
• Go Phonics Kit for Dyslexia -Phonics games, workbooks, stories, and skills taught one step at a time in a sequence that minimizes confusion (for dyslexia).
• International Dyslexia Association - A comprehensive forum for parents, educators, and researchers to share their experiences, methods, and knowledge
• Lindamood-Bell Learning Processes - Internationally acclaimed language processing programs, proven effective in the treatment of dyslexia.
• The Language Tune-Up Kit - Remedial reading software that takes your student to an eighth grade reading level.
• Yahoo Dyslexia Resources

Government Web sites: Special Education

• DisabilityInfo.gov - A gateway to the federal government's disability-related information and resources.
• Education Law Center - Focuses on improving public education for disadvantaged children, children with disabilities and other special needs. ELC uses a wide variety of strategies, including public education and engagement, policy initiatives, research, communications and legal action.
• New Jersey Core Curriculum Content Standards
• Office of Special Education - NJ Department Education - provides statewide leadership, guidance to school districts and parents regarding the implementation of special education programs and services.
• Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services, US Department of Education - A wide array of support in special education, vocational rehabilitation and research.
• OSPI Special Education Page - Assessment, Research, Consolidated Program Review on special education, and more.
• The Regional Resource and Federal Centers (RRFC) Network - Comprised of the six Regional Resource Centers for Special Education and the FRC.

Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities

• American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities - AAIDD promotes progressive policies, sound research, effective practices, and universal human rights for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities.

Learning Disabilities

• Council for Learning Disabilities - Conferences, journals, and other work to help people with learning disabilities.
• LD OnLine - A guide to learning disabilities for parents, teachers and children.
• Learning Differences- Resources for Teaching grades 4-12
• Learning Disabilities Association of America, Inc. (LDA) - Conference information, guiding principles, teacher education, fact sheets, publications, and more.
• Learning Disabilities and Giftedness - articles.
• The Literacy & Learning Disabilities Special Collection - information on LD issues.
• National Center for Learning Disabilities, Inc. - Resources, referral services, educational programs, policies, legislation, and more.
• Nonverbal Learning Disabilities (NLD) - Advocacy, articles, book information and more.
• SchwabLearning.org - A parent's guide to helping kids with learning differences and disabilities with over 300 articles, message boards and free publications.
• SERI Learning Disabilities Resources.