Library Guides: Education and Teaching: Subject Guide

Recommended Databases: Education and Teaching

Multidisciplinary Databases

Online Library Catalog: WorldCat Discovery

Use any combination of keywords, subjects, authors, or titles
Search results will include both print and electronic library holdings
Download fulltext e-books and e-journal articles easily
Locate print materials and DVDs in the library using the shelving locations, call numbers, collection guide, and map
Limit results by format, date, full-text, and peer-review
Search for books, journals, and articles in other libraries and request these items using Inter-library Loan
Use the Ask-a-Librarian feature to chat online or request assistance

Teacher Exam Review

Praxis and Other Test Review Resources

Learning Express Library This link opens in a new window Learning Express Library provides resources that help preparation for tests or exams such as Praxis I and II, MCAT, LSAT CLEP, GRE among others, and Nursing Licensure exams, and more. It also contains information that helps job search, resume creation and workplace skills as well.
Mometrix Test Preparation eBooks This link opens in a new window Guarini Library currently subscribes to a selected collection of test preparation books for ACT, CLEP, GRE, and Praxis.

Instructions for the Learning Express and Mometrix databases
Khan Academy Praxis Core Review
Khan Academy is collaborating with ETS® to create Official Praxis® Core Prep, a free online resource that helps build the reading,writing, and math skills needed to succeed on the Praxis Core test and beyond.
To access the Official Praxis® Core Prep, Click the link to go to khanacademy.org/praxis-core, and then click Get Started.
Khan Academy - Review
Free Video tutorials in many subjects including math. Click Courses drop down menu to view tutorials.
ETS
The Praxis® tests measure the academic skills and subject-specific content knowledge needed for teaching. The Praxis tests are taken by individuals entering the teaching profession as part of the certification process required by many states and professional licensing organizations.
Hint (Interactive Practice Tests)-Enter State- Click Test Requirements in your state-What are my requirements- Click Test name-- Look for Interactive Practice Test under Priced Preparation.
more...less...
Links to requirements, test centers, registration and review resources
Praxis Core Math Update
Information about the update to the Praxis Core Math Test which takes effect in September 2019
Praxis Exam Updates
Information about name and code changes

IMPORTANT NEWS ABOUT PRAXIS EXAMS DURING COVID 19 CRISIS

COVID 19 List of Praxis Testing Centers
Updates on PRAXIS and other Test Dates and locations during the Covid 19 Crisis

Classroom Resources: Databases

Booklists
Lists of books in the library collection on different topics including: Lesson Plans, Bilingual Books, Global Books, Concept Books, Math, Science and Special Education .
Database of Award Winning Children's Books
Search for books or generate a booklist of award-winning books by genre, protagonist gender/ethnicity, reader age, grade level.

Explora Primary Schools This link opens in a new window The new Explora searching interface from EBSCOhost replaces the KidSearch and the Student Research Center interfaces. Explora was designed to meet the unique needs of its users, supporting both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality. Explora features a simple search that quickly delivers relevant results including articles, essays, and primary source documents to help students feel successful in their research. Includes topic overviews, 60,000 videos.
Explora Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window The new Explora searching interface from EBSCOhost replaces the KidSearch and the Student Research Center interfaces. Explora was designed to meet the unique needs of its users, supporting both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality. Explora features a simple search that quickly delivers relevant results including articles, essays, and primary source documents to help students feel successful in their research. Includes topic overviews, 60,000 videos.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Drawing on a book series under the same title, the database features viewpoint articles, magazine, journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, and inks to websites on most debated current social issues.
Infobase - Curriculum Resource Center This link opens in a new window Provides a library of printable teacher-handout material for the middle school, high school, and junior college curriculum.
Infobase - Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window Offers comprehensive career guidance through extensive job and industry profiles, career forecasting, and a monthly newsletter.
Infobase - Science Online This link opens in a new window Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.
Infobase - World Almanac for Kids Online This link opens in a new window Provides resources for homework, reports, and projects to support the school curriculum.
Middle Search Plus This link opens in a new window The database contains full text for nearly 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window Collection of streaming classical music with over 400,000 tracks of classical, orchestral, wind band, choral, jazz, and world music from over 75 record labels around the world.
NoveList This link opens in a new window This database provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, and much more for over 120,000 fiction titles. Also helpful for school teachers are the Standards-Based Thematic Units and Picture Book Extenders, as well as specific teaching guides for using fiction in the classroom.
NoveList K-8 This link opens in a new window The database is aimed at helping younger readers find the books (by author, title, series, theme or topic), with full-text reviews, they want to read. In addition, it includes scripts of book talks delivered by well-known librarians, offers specific examples of the many ways in which picture books can be used by teachers and parents, and contains hundreds of genre and theme-based bibliographies as well as lists of award-winning titles.
Primary Search This link opens in a new window Primary Search provides full text from 57 children's magazines for elementary level. It offers indexing and abstracts for over 80 magazines. In addition, it includes full text sources such as: The World Almanac of U.S.A. and The World Almanac for Kids; The Encyclopedia of Animals; Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia; and full text for over 100 pamphlets.

Education and Teaching: Subject Guide

Featured Library Resources: Education and Teaching

Recommended Databases: Education and Teaching

Multidisciplinary Databases

Online Library Catalog: WorldCat Discovery

Teacher Exam Review

Classroom Resources: Databases