Skip to main content

Citation Guide

Guide to APA: Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

  Citing Books

Reference:

 Format:
 Author's last name, first and second initial. (Year ). Title of book. Publication location: Publishing
       company.

 Example: 
 Townsend, R. M. (1993). The medieval village economy. Princeton, NJ:  Princeton University
        Press.

In -Text:
 (Townsend, 1993)
   Citing an Entry in an Encyclopedia

 

 

        Reference:   

 

 Format:
 Author's last name, first and second initial. (Year ). Title of the entry. In Title of the encyclopedia (Vol.
       number, page number). Publication  location: Publisher.

 Example 1:
 Bergmann, P. G. (1993). Relativity. In The new encyclopedia Britannica  (Vol. 26, pp. 501-508).
       Chicago: Encyclopedia Britannica. 
 Note:
 If an entry has no author, place the title of the entry in the author position.

 Example 2:
 Imago. (2000). In World book encyclopedia (Vol. 10, p. 79). Chicago: World Book Encyclopedia.

In -Text:

 Example 1:
 (Bergmann, 1993)

 Example 2:
 ("Imago," 2000)

  Citing Journal Articles (print)

    Reference:     

 Format:
 Author's last name, first and second Initial. (Year). Article title. Journal title, volume number(issue
       number), page numbers.

 Example:
 Martinez-Pons, M. (2002). Parental influences on children's academic self-regulatory development.
       Theory Into Practice, 41(2), 126-132.

In -Text:  (Martinez-Pons, 2002)
  Citing Journal articles (retrieved from library database)

    Reference:       

 Format 1: (Article is assigned a DOI) ( How to locate DOI? )
 Author's last name, first and second Initial. (Year). Article title. Journal title, volume number(issue
       number), page numbers. doi: xxxxxxxxxx

 Example:
 Meyer, U., & Feldon, J. (2009). Neural basis of psychosis-related behaviour in the infection model of
       schizophrenia. Behavioural  Brain Research, 204(2), 322-334. doi:10.1016/j.bbr.2008.12.022

 Format 2: (Article is NOT assigned a DOI)
 Author's last name, first and second Initial. (Year). Article title. Journal title, volume number(issue
       number), page numbers. Retrieved from database home page URL

 Example:
 Esper, P. (2009). Immune Modulation in Melanoma and Advanced Cancer Therapy. Clinical Journal
       of Oncology Nursing
, 13(5), 547-554. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com

 Notes:
 Do not provide an entire URL that leads directly to article, but rather just the database's home page
 as the following:

EBSCOHost databases http://search.ebscohost.com
ProQuest databases http://proquest.umi.com/
VALE databases http://www.valenj.org/
ERIC http://www.eric.ed.gov/ 
 In -Text:

 Example for format 1:
 (Meyer & Feldon, 2009)

 Example for format 2:
 (Esper, 2009)

  Citing Web Sites

      Reference:     

 

 The vast variety and inconsistency of web sites can present challenges for creating accurate references,
 The following is a general format for citing information.

 Format:
 Author if given, (date of web site if given; use n.d. if no date). Title of web site. Retrieved date from URL
       [no period used after URL]

 Example 1:
 Grohol, J.M. (2003). Dr. John Grohol's PsychCentral . Retrieved March 13, 2003, from
        http://psychcentral.com

 Example 2: (No date)
 Thompson, G. (n.d.). Youth coach handbook. Retrieved September 17, 2001, from
        http://www.joesoccer.com/menu.html

 Example 3: (No author, no date)
 Greater New Milford (Ct) Area Healthy Community 2000, Task Force on Teen and Adolescent Issues.
        (n.d.). Who has time for a family meal? You do! Retrieved October 5, 2000, from
        http://www.familymealtime.org

 In -Text:

 Example 1:
 (Grohol, 2003)

 Example 2: (No date)
 (Thompson, n.d.)

 Example 3: (No author, no date)
 (Greater New Milford, n.d.)

This guide provides only the most common kind of references. For all reference examples, please consult the latest edition of  APA style manual available in the library reference area.

More guide links: