Measures for Clinical Practice and Research, Volume 1
by
One of the key challenges of all types of practice and research is finding a way to measure the problem. This seminal 2-volume book contains hundreds of the most useful measurement tools for use in clinical practice and in research. All measures are critiqued by the editors, who provideguidance on how to select and score them and the actual measures are wholly reproduced.This first volume, focusing on measures for use with couples, families, and children, includes an introduction to the basic priniciples of measurement, an overview of different types of measures, and an overview of the Rapid Assessment Inventories included herein. Volume I also contains descriptionsand reviews of each instrument, as well as information on how they were selected and how to administer and score them.This book is designed as the definitive reference volume on assessment measures for both practice and research in clinical mental health. This fifth edition of Corcoran and Fischer's Measures for Clinical Practice and Research is updated with a new preface, new scales, and updated information forexisting instruments, expanding and cementing its utility for members of all the helping professions, including psychology, social work, psychiatry, counseling, nursing, and medicine.Alone or as a set, these classic compendiums are powerful tools that clinicians and researchers alike will find an invaluable addition to - or update of - their libraries.
Measures for Clinical Practice and Research
by
The fourth edition of this essential resource has dozens of new scales as well as updated information for existing instruments, expanding and cementing its utility for members of all the helping professions, including psychology, social work, psychiatry, counseling, nursing, and medicine. Eachinstrument is reproduced in its entirety and critiqued by the editors, who provide guidance on how to select and score them. This first volume covers measures for use with couples, families, and children; its companion focuses on adults. Alone or as a set, these classic compendiums are powerfultools that clinicians and researchers alike will find an invaluable addition to - or update of - their libraries.Giving clinicians the scales they need to measure their clients' problems and monitor their outcomes, these all-in-one sourcebooks bring effective, accountable practice within reach for today's busy professionals.
Measuring Health
by
Worldwide economic constraints on health care systems have highlighted the importance of evidence-based medicine and evidence-based health policy. The resulting clinical trials and health services research studies require instruments to monitor the outcomes of care and the output of thehealth system. However, the over-abundance of competing measurement scales can make choosing a measure difficult at best. Measuring Health provides in-depth reviews of over 100 of the leading health measurement tools and serves as a guide for choosing among them.LNow in its third edition, thisbook provides a critical overview of the field of health measurement, with a technical introduction and discussion of the history and future directions for the field. This latest edition updates the information on each of the measures previously reviewed, and includes a complete new chapter onanxiety measurement to accompany the one on depression. It has also added new instruments to those previously reviewed in each of the chapters in the book.LChapters cover measurements of physical disability, social health, psychological well-being, anxiety, depression, mental status testing, pain,general health status and quality of life. Each chapter presents a tabular comparison of the quality of the instruments reviewed, followed by a detailed description of each method, covering its purpose and conceptual basis, its reliability and validity and, where possible, shows a copy of theactual scale. To ensure accuracy of the information, each review has been approved by the original author of each instrument or by an acknowledged expert.
Conducting Online Surveys
by
Online surveys provide promising opportunities in today’s technological world. Conducting Online Surveys is a comprehensive guide to the creation, implementation, and analysis of e-mail and Web-based surveys. Authors Valerie M. Sue and Lois A. Ritter specifically address issues unique to online survey research such as selecting software, designing Web-based questionnaires, and sampling from online populations.
Designing and Conducting Health Surveys
by
This revised and updated edition is an indespensable resource for health researchers. It draws on the most current findings in survey design, marketing research, health services research, and cognitive psychology to provide comprehensive guidance on designing and conducting health surveys. Special emphasis is placed on the complexities of the ever-changing health care environment.
Measuring Health
by
This thoroughly revised and updated edition offers a comprehensive guide to measures of health and is an essential reference resource for all health professionals and students. Containing details of the use of most of the major measures of health and functioning, the new edition includes: . A A new chapter on measuring global quality of life. A Updated analysis of measures of subjective well-being. A A revised and up-to-date selection of useful addresses. Measuring Health is key reading for upper level undergraduates and postgraduates in health studies, health sciences, research methods and social sciences."
Measurement in Nursing and Health Research, Fifth Edition
by
Praise for the Previous Edition: "This is a valuable resource for readers seeking basic to advanced information on measurement. It should be on the bookshelf of all researchers, and a requirement for graduate nursing students." Score: 100, 5 stars -- Doody's Medical Reviews "...this book is a wonderful shelf reference for nurse researcher mentors and investigators who may need to explore content or use content to design, test, select, and evaluate instruments and methods used in measuring nurse concepts and outcomes." --Clinical Nurse Specialist "Presents clearly the methodological principles for research planning in nursing with examples that facilitate the understanding of them. Excellent." 5.0 out of 5 stars --Nursing Research This highly popular resource--written in an easy-to-read style and format-- delivers everything nurses and other health researchers need to know about designing, testing, selecting, and evaluating instruments and methods for measurement in nursing. The Fifth Edition features the most current content, strategies, and procedures available with direct applicability to nurses and health researchers engaging in interprofessional research, collaboration, education, and evidence-based practice. Five new chapters focus on challenges to using big data, evaluation and measurement in interprofessional practice and education, metrics and benchmarking in health professions education and practice, and measurement issues in translational science. The book gives particular attention to measurement issues resulting from changes in nursing, health research, and the increased emphasis on and undertaking of interprofessional research and evaluation. Presenting the material in step-by-step format, the book is designed for readers with little or no experience in measurement, statistics, or interprofessional issues. It focuses on increasing the reader's ability to use measures that are operationalized within the context of theories and conceptual frameworks, derived from sound measurement principles and practices and adequately tested for reliability and validity. Additionally, the text provides a pragmatic account of the processes involved in all aspects of measurement. Studies conducted by nurses and researchers in varied settings illustrate the measurement processes. New to the Fifth Edition: Thoroughly updated and revisedDelivers new and emerging strategiesReflects recent changes to nursing, health research, and emphasis on interprofessional researchIncludes five completely new chapters addressing challenges to using big data, evaluation and measurement in interprofessional practice and education, metrics and benchmarking in health professions education and practice, and measurement issues in translational science Key Features: Easy-to-read content and formatAssumes no prior knowledge of measurement, statistics, or interprofessional issuesProvides studies conducted by nurses and researchers in varied settingsOffers a pragmatic account of the processes involved inn all aspects of measurement
Measurement of Nursing Outcomes
by
This thoroughly updated and revised new edition of the award-winning series on measurement presents nearly 80 actual, tested intruments for assessing nursing outcomes in a multitude of settings and situations. Each tool is accompanied by a descriptive essay that includes information on purpose, administration, scoring, and reliability and validity. Whether you are interested in measuring patient outcomes, evaluating patient learning, or assessing the effectiveness of teaching and learning in a nursing school, this compendium can provide the authoritative tools you need. Volume 1: Measuring Nursing Performance in Practice, Education, and Research. Carolyn Feher Waltz, PhD, RN, FAAN and Louise Sherman Jenkins, PhD, RN, FAAN. 2001. Volume 2: Client Outcomes and Quality of Care. Ora Lea Strickland, PhD, RN, FAAN and Coleen DiIorio, PhD, RN, FAAN. December 2002. Volume 3: Self Care and Coping. Ora Leah Strickland, PhD, RN, FAAN and Coleen DiIorio, PhD, RN, FAAN. December 2002
Measurement of Nursing Outcomes
by
This is a compendium of over 30 tools for the measurement of professional and educational outcomes in nursing. It is a second edition of the award winning series of books on measuring outcomes in nursing. The tools and methods are presented with attention to purpose and utility, conceptual basis, development, testing, and reliability and validity assessments. Major topic areas focus on clinical decision making and performance in education and practice, student outcomes, and research. In most cases the complete measurement instrument is included in the book.
Measurement of Nursing Outcomes
by
This thoroughly updated and revised new edition of the award-winning series on measurement presents nearly 80 actual, tested intruments for assessing nursing outcomes in a multitude of settings and situations. Each tool is accompanied by a descriptive essay that includes information on purpose, administration, scoring, and reliability and validity. Whether you are interested in measuring patient outcomes, evaluating patient learning, or assessing the effectiveness of teaching and learning in a nursing school, this compendium can provide the authoritative tools you need.
Fitness Measures and Health Outcomes in Youth
by
Physical fitness affects our ability to function and be active. At poor levels, it is associated with such health outcomes as diabetes and cardiovascular disease. Physical fitness testing in American youth was established on a large scale in the 1950s with an early focus on performance-related fitness that gradually gave way to an emphasis on health-related fitness. Using appropriately selected measures to collected fitness data in youth will advance our understanding of how fitness among youth translates into better health. In Fitness Measures and Health Outcomes in Youth, the IOM assesses the relationship between youth fitness test items and health outcomes, recommends the best fitness test items, provides guidance for interpreting fitness scores, and provides an agenda for needed research. The report concludes that selected cardiorespiratory endurance, musculoskeletal fitness, and body composition measures should be in fitness surveys and in schools. Collecting fitness data nationally and in schools helps with setting and achieving fitness goals and priorities for public health at an individual and national level.
Subjective Well-Being
by
Subjective well-being refers to how people experience and evaluate their lives and specific domains and activities in their lives. This information has already proven valuable to researchers, who have produced insights about the emotional states and experiences of people belonging to different groups, engaged in different activities, at different points in the life course, and involved in different family and community structures. Research has also revealed relationships between people's self-reported, subjectively assessed states and their behavior and decisions. Research on subjective well-being has been ongoing for decades, providing new information about the human condition. During the past decade, interest in the topic among policy makers, national statistical offices, academic researchers, the media, and the public has increased markedly because of its potential for shedding light on the economic, social, and health conditions of populations and for informing policy decisions across these domains. Subjective Well-Being: Measuring Happiness, Suffering, and Other Dimensions of Experience explores the use of this measure in population surveys. This report reviews the current state of research and evaluates methods for the measurement. In this report, a range of potential experienced well-being data applications are cited, from cost-benefit studies of health care delivery to commuting and transportation planning, environmental valuation, and outdoor recreation resource monitoring, and even to assessment of end-of-life treatment options. Subjective Well-Being finds that, whether used to assess the consequence of people's situations and policies that might affect them or to explore determinants of outcomes, contextual and covariate data are needed alongside the subjective well-being measures. This report offers guidance about adopting subjective well-being measures in official government surveys to inform social and economic policies and considers whether research has advanced to a point which warrants the federal government collecting data that allow aspects of the population's subjective well-being to be tracked and associated with changing conditions.
