It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biology: Subject Guide
Guarini Library Resources on Biology
Biology DatabaseThis database includes over 370 titles in biology, with more than 325 available in full text.
Biological AbstractsThe database provides millions of citations and abstracts of life science and biomedical research literature published in more than 4,000 journals.
GreenFileMultidisciplinary by nature, the database covers scholarly articles and government publications on the topics of global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Gale Academic OneFileThis multi-subject database contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources, with extensive coverage on physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is one of EBSCOhost's full-text databases. It covers full-text articles from nearly 3,200 scholarly publications, and numerous peer-reviewed journals with a coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc.
Catalog of U.S. government publicationsThis is a finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.
eBook Academic CollectionThis database provides full-text access to more than 125,000 eBooks from leading university presses, such as: Oxford University Press, MIT Press, Cambridge University Press, University of California Press, and Harvard University Press.
The titles included represent a broad range of academic subject matter, including: art, business & economics, education, language arts & discipline, literary criticism, medical, performing arts, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion, social science, technology & engineering, and others. All titles are available with unlimited user access, and new titles are added each month.
Google ScholarGoogle Scholar searches peer-reviewed papers, dissertations, citations, abstracts and reports from a variety of scholarly sources provided by academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and open access publishers.
Searching Google Scholar from Guarini Library homepage, full text resources that are available from NJCU Library-subscribed databases or electronic journals will be automatically accessible (Gothic ID needed for off-campus access).
MasterFILE EliteThis database provides full-text information from popular magazines and general reference resources on subjects of general interest. It also includes an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps and flags.
ProQuest CentralProQuest Central is a multi-subject database which allows users to select and search one, several, or all from the following databases:
ABI/Inform Trade & Industry
Accounting & Tax with Standards
Criminal Justice Periodicals
ProQuest Education Journals
Proquest Psychology Journals
Proquest Social Science Journals
Research LibraryThis database includes more than 4,070 titles, nearly 2,800 in full text, from 1971 forward. It covers a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers in a broad range of popular academic subjects including arts, business, education, health, humanities, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social science, and more.
Sage journalsThe database provides full-text access to over 645 peer-reviewed journal dating back to 1999. It includes leading international peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 245 scholarly and professional societies. Subject coverage includes business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, medicine and many more.
WorldCat (the OCLC Online Union Catalog)Provides millions of bibliographic records of books, web resources, and
other material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Also lists regional
library holdings information.
Science DatabaseThis database features over 1,145 titles in both general and applied sciences, with more than 965 available in full text. It all major fields of study, including: physics, engineering, astronomy, biology, earth science, chemistry, and more.
Gale in Context: ScienceThis database provides content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files, podcasts and web links on science topics to support high school curricula and university coursework.
It includes such acclaimed science series, like Experiment Central; it also features curriculum-aligned content to aid educators and enhance student research.
NatureNature covers academic journals and reference publications on basic biological and physical sciences.
Salem ScienceSalem Science provides online access to printed reference titles, published by Salem Press, that are available in the Library. Currently the following title is available: Forensic Science
Infobase - Science OnlinePresents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.
Books & E-Books (Available Through the Guarini Library)
Biology Online - Biology related dictionary, articles, tutorials, directory and more.
Biology Project - Problem sets and tutorials for college and high school students in all areas of biology.
BiologyBrowser - Links to relevant scientific digital resources; Current science news; information resources produced by Thomson Reuters to compliment our life science products such as BIOSIS Previews & Zoological Record.
BioCoach - by Pearson, a PreK-20 educational publishing company.
PubMed - “PubMed® from the U.S. National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health, provides free access to MEDLINE and links to full text articles when possible. PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.”