Library Guides: Library Resources for HIST 233: Beyond Boundaries: Historical Narrative in the Global Age (1000 CE to Present)

Featured Library Resources: Beyond Boundaries

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America

Countries and Their Cultures

Multicultural America

African American Culture and History

Understanding the Latinx Experience

Asian Americans

Suburban Sahibs

Borderline Citizens

Grandma Hekmat Remembers

Pakistan

Congotay! Congotay!

Recommended Databases: Beyond Boundaries

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Excellent source of peer reviewed and fulltext journal articles for a broad spectrum of academic subjects.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database contains fulltext and peer reviewed journals and many national and international news sources. Browse daily issues of major world newspapers.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Provides a balanced treatment of different viewpoints (pro and con) on many contemporary controversial topics. This is a great resource if you want to become aware of alternative perspectives.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
This database covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. It provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books, and selective indexing for about 1,700 journals.
Infobase - American History Online This link opens in a new window
This digital reference tool does not contain journal articles. However it does include background and overview information, maps, images, primary source documents and video content that will enhance your understanding of American History.

Additional databases are available on the Library Home Page

Ask A Librarian for assistance

Useful Websites for Country Information and Data

Countries and Their Cultures A team of anthropologists and social scientists have taken a close look at more than 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture -- every bit as much as geographic borders -- defines and separates the nations of the world. Using a standard entry format for easy comparison, each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations are surveyed -- from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts. Lavishly illustrated with more than 1,000 photographs and more than 200 maps.
ISBN: 0028649508
Publication Date: 2001-05-23

Infobase - World Geography and Culture Online This link opens in a new window Combines detailed, printable, full-color maps of countries, provinces, and states with up-to-date statistical and local information.

Economic Data about Countries

Statistical Information on Immigrants in the United States

Much of the statistical information about immigrants in the United States derives from the U.S. Government sources such as the decennial census and or is collected by federal agencies such as the Department of Homeland Security.

This section contains links to the Census.gov website and other related resources.

Explore Census Data: Data.Census.Gov
Yearbook of Immigration Statistics - DHS "The Yearbook of Immigration Statistics is a compendium of tables that provides data on foreign nationals who, during a fiscal year, were granted lawful permanent residence (i.e., admitted as immigrants or became legal permanent residents), were admitted into the United States on a temporary basis (e.g., tourists, students, or workers), applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized. The Yearbook also presents data on immigration enforcement actions, including alien apprehensions, removals, and returns. The Yearbook tables are released as they become available. A final PDF is released in September of the following fiscal year." - DHS website
Current U.S. Census Information
Census Information About Foreign-born (ie Immigrants)
Census: Place of Birth for the Foreign-born Population
Census: Total Ancestry Reported

Sample Searches in Academic Search Premier

These are all sample searches from Academic Search Premier on a variety of topics that you can use to model a new search on your own ethnic or immigrant group.

Online Library Catalog: WorldCat Discovery

Use any combination of keywords, subjects, authors, or titles
Search results will include both print and electronic library holdings
Download fulltext e-books and e-journal articles easily
Locate print materials and DVDs in the library using the shelving locations, call numbers, collection guide, and map
Limit results by format, date, full-text, and peer-review
Search for books, journals, and articles in other libraries and request these items using Inter-library Loan
Use the Ask-a-Librarian feature to chat online or request assistance

Immigrant Experience in the United States

This link will search the Guarini Library catalog for peer-reviewed articles, and print and e-books about many different immigrant groups in the United States.

Emigration & Immigration

Other keywords to try:

Assimilation
Minorities
Refugees
Ethnic neighborhoods

These links below will search the library catalog for books and ebooks about specific immigrant groups.

Modify any of the searches by replacing the country name or the nationality with the one you want to research.