Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Community College Leadership: Citations

RefWorks

RefWorks is a citation tool that lets you import articles from databases and generate/ format bibliographies of resources in any format (APA, MLA, etc.)

To register  for an account in RefWorks:  

1.  From the Library home page select "By Title" under "Databases" ;

2. Once there scroll down to select RefWorks from the list;

3. Click on "Sign up for a new account" to be prompted to the two step process for creating an account.

Citation Guide to APA 7th edition: Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

 

APA Style (7th Edition) Citation Guide

Book/eBook

Format
Author's last name, Initial(s). (Year of publication). Title of book: Capital letter also for subtitle. Publisher.
     https://doi.org/xxxxx/yyyyyyy if given for an eBook [no period used after DOI]

Example 1 (print book):
Tolan, J. V. (2013). Europe and the Islamic world: A history. Princeton University Press.
In-text:
(Tolan, 2013)

Example 2: (eBook retrieved from a library academic database, without a DOI, do not include URL or database information.)
Aschengrau, A., & Seage, G. R. (2020). Essentials of epidemiology in public health.
     Jones & Bartlett Learning.
In-text:
(Aschengrau & Seage, 2020)

APA Style (7th Edition) Citation Guide

Article or Chapter/Entry in an Edited Book or Encyclopedia

Format:
Author's last name, Initial(s). (Year). Title of the work. In A. A. Editor, & B. B. Editor (Eds.),
     Title of the book (Vol. number, page number). Publisher.
Example:
​​​​​​Wilkins, M. (2001). The history of multinational enterprise. In A. M. Rugman, & T. L. Brewer (Eds.),
     The Oxford handbook of international business (pp. 3-25). Oxford University Press.     
In-text:
(Wilkins, 2001)                       

Note:
If a work has no author, place the title of the work in the author position.
Example:
​​​​​​Imago. (2000). In World book encyclopedia (Vol. 10, p. 79). World Book Encyclopedia.
In-text:
("Imago," 2000)

APA Style (7th Edition) Citation Guide

Journal Article

Format:
Author's last name, Initial(s). (Year). Article title. Journal Titlevolume number(issue number),
     page numbers. https://doi.org/xxxxx/yyyyyy [Include DOI if given even when using print source.]

Example 1: (Article has a DOI)
Meyer, U., & Feldon, J. (2009). Neural basis of psychosis-related behavior in the infection model
     of schizophrenia. Behavioural Brain Research204(2), 322-334.
     https://doi.org/10.1016/j.bbr.2008.12.022
In-text:
(Meyer & Feldon, 2009)

Example 2: (Article without a DOI retrieved from library academic databases, do not include URL or database information)
Esper, P. (2009). Immune modulation in melanoma and advanced cancer therapy.
     Clinical Journal of Oncology Nursing13(5), 547-554.
In-text:
(Esper, 2009)

APA Style (7th Edition) Citation Guide

Webpage or Web Document

Format:
Individual Author or Name of Group if given. (date if given). Title

of webpage or document. Website Name. URL [no period used after URL]

Example 1:
Grohol, J.M. (2020). The psychology of confirmation bias. PsychCentral.
     https://psychcentral.com/blog/the-psychology-of-confirmatio n-bias/  
In-text:
(Grohol, 2020)

Example 2: (Document with no date)  
Note: Include retrieval date in URL only when the source material is likely to change over time.  Otherwise no retrieval date is needed.

National Alliance on Mental Illness. (n.d.). Mental health conditions. NAMI. 
     Retrieved March 27, 2020, from https://www.nami.org/LearnMore/ Mental-Health-Conditions
In-text:
(National Alliance on Mental Illness, n.d.)

 

This guide provides only the most common kind of references. For all reference examples, please consult the latest edition of  APA style manual available in the library reference area.

More guide links: