Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Community College Leadership: Selected Links

Selected Links

Organization dedicated to improving the success rates of community college students, with a particular focus on low-income students and students of color.

Leading national organization that champions women and maximizes their potential.

Mission is to provide professional development, guidelines, and voluntary standards to be used by higher education officials regarding the best practices in records management, admissions, enrollment management, administrative information technology, and student services.

Nonprofit association that is a primary advocacy organization for community colleges at the national level and works closely with directors of state offices to inform and affect state policy.

Supports higher education professionals by providing education materials and resources, intentional professional development opportunities and a network of colleagues to facilitate best practices of student conduct administration and conflict resolution on college and university campuses.

Non-profit educational organization of governing boards, representing more than 6,500 elected and appointed trustees who govern over 1,200 community, technical, and junior colleges in the United States and beyond.

Organization for survey research, focus group work, and related services for community and technical colleges interested in improving educational quality through strengthened student engagement and student success.

Nonprofit organization dedicated to improving community college effectiveness and student success by engaging in relevant and applicable research related to community college practice and policy.

Strives to promote better access to the baccalaureate degree on community college campuses, and to serve as a resource for information on various models for accomplishing this purpose.

Strategically assesses the problems and performance of community colleges in order to contribute to the development of practice and policy that expands access to higher education and promotes success for all students.

Provides public reporting on student engagement, a key indicator of learning and, therefore, of the quality of community colleges.

National advocate and institutional voice for self-regulation of academic quality through accreditation, CHEA is an association of 3,000 degree-granting colleges and universities and recognizes 60 institutional and programmatic accrediting organizations.

The Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Justice Resource Center brings together EAB’s vast library of best practice DEIJ research, tools, and insights dedicated to helping college and university leaders cultivate diversity, foster inclusion, promote equity, and fight for justice for their students, faculty, staff, and communities.

Tracks state policy trends, translates academic research, provides unbiased advice, and creates opportunities for state leaders to learn from one another.

Association of university chief executives from regionally accredited colleges or universities around the world.

International nonprofit organization with a mission to cultivate innovation in the community college environment.

Member organization of presidents, educators, administrators and center directors are focused on igniting entrepreneurship in their community and on their campus.

Membership organization representing business and financial officers through advocacy efforts, community service, and professional development activities.

Supports institutions and individual members by enhancing current community college teacher education programs and serving as a resource for those looking to develop new programs.

Leading association for the advancement, health, and sustainability of the student affairs profession.

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. NCES is located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences.

Provides state policymakers and analysts timely and accurate data and information that are useful in making sound higher education policy decisions.

The Office of Vocational and Adult Education (OVAE) administers, coordinates programs that are related to adult education and literacy, career and technical education, and community colleges.

These papers were prepared for the first-ever White House Summit on Community Colleges. Dr. Jill Biden to convened the October 5, 2010, summit to highlight community colleges' role in developing America's workforce and reaching the President's goal of having the highest proportion of college graduates by 2020.

This PDF format report includes summaries of breakout sessions and recommendations of attendees.

The above list is quoted from:

Community College Leadership LibGuide https://ncu.libguides.com/communitycollege created by Amanda Bezet.
Starred  (*) items  are quoted from:
Community College Leadership LibGuide  http://libguides.lr.edu/c.php?g=359681&p=2429640 created by Heather Propsom

Careted items (^) have been added by the authors of this LibGuide 

Research Resources

Prepared for EdD students at NJCU, October 2019

Dr. Christine Harrington

This is not an exhaustive list of postsecondary research resources or research centers! There are many more centers and university-based researchers conducting innovative and important research on postsecondary reforms, policies, and issues. This list includes centers that conduct research on many different postsecondary education topics and produce many important papers that you might not find in a peer-reviewed journal article search!


Aspen Institute

  • The College Excellence Program at the Aspen Institute conducts research on transfer, dual enrollment, leadership, and workforce. A full list of their projects is available here.  
  • A list is their publications is available here.


Belk Center for Community College Research and Leadership (https://belk-center.ced.ncsu.edu/)

  • The Belk Center is a relatively new research center based at NC State University. The center conducts research on career and technical education, transfer, and teaching and learning.
  • The center also works with postsecondary institutions to administer a campus climate assessment.


Career Ladders Project (https://www.careerladdersproject.org/)

  • Based in California, CLP works with California community colleges to support, coach, and advise on implementation of reforms to improve student success and conducts research.
  • CLP focuses on guided pathways, impacts of state and system policy, transitions to college, and student supports.
  • CLP’s publications (available here) are typically based on fieldwork and interviews with college practitioners, and includes great case studies of implementation.


Community College Research Center (ccrc.tc.columbia.edu)

  • CCRC conducts research on developmental education, advising and student services, guided pathways, student financial aid (work study, pell, loans, etc.), English language learners, teaching and learning, transfer, and dual enrollment.
  • Publications includes working papers (longer research papers with more extensive methods and conceptual frameworks), research briefs (summaries of research), practitioner packets, and analytic reports
  • CARP (https://postsecondaryreadiness.org). CAPR is an IES funded center housed within CCRC that focuses on research on developmental education.
  • CAPSEE (https://capseecenter.org/). CAPSEE was an IES-funded center housed within CCRC that focused on employment and earnings benefits associated with postsecondary education in several states including North Carolina, Michigan, Ohio, Virginia, California. Topics included for-profit education, work study, financial aid, and minority serving institutions.  


Education Commission for the States (https://ecs.org)


Guided Pathways Resource Center (https://www.pathwaysresources.org/)


The Hope Center for College, Community, and Justice (https://hope4college.com/)


JFF Student Success Center Network (https://www.jff.org/what-we-do/impact-stories/student-success-center-network/)


MDRC (mdrc.org)

  • MDRC’s postsecondary research focuses on many topics including developmental education, financial aid, student services, institutional reform, instruction and curriculum.
  • MDRC conducts rigorous evaluations of postsecondary reforms, including ASAP, CUNY Start, college promise initiatives, learning communities, and more.
  • A list of some of their major studies is included here.


National Center for Inquiry & Improvement


Office of Community College Research and Leadership (https://occrl.illinois.edu/)

  • OCCRL conducts research on a number of topics including equity, pathways, and leadership.
  • A list of OCCRL’s publications a searchable by topic, keyword, or author


Research for Action (https://researchforaction.org)

  • RFA is based in Philadelphia and conducts research on K12 and postsecondary education.
  • A list of their current projects is available here.
  • In higher education, they have focused on assessment and placement policies (including multiple measures policies), outcomes-based funding, promise programs, and college affordability. Some of their postsecondary work is available here.

Strong Start to Finish https://strongstart.org/about


SUNY Guided Pathways Institutes (https://sites.monroecc.edu/suny-guided-pathways-institutes/)

University of Washington Community College Research Initiatives (https://www.washington.edu/ccri/)