Library Resources for HIST 205: Ancient Civilizations

World Civilizations:

• Ancient History - BBC Feature - Feature articles, 3-d virtual tours, games and animation on ancient history.
• Cleopatra: A Multimedia Guide to the Ancient World - A guide to the Ancient Art Collection of The Art Institute of Chicago focusing on the three cultures of the ancient Mediterranean: Italy, Egypt, and Greece.
• Collapse: Why Do Civilizations Fall? - Explores the fall of civilizations in ancient Maya, Mesopotamia, Anasazi, and the medieval African, etc.
• Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World - A searchable bibliography, and links to full-text articles, databases, and images on women and gender issues among Greek, Roman, Egyptian, and other ancient cultures.
• Exploring Ancient World Cultures - An online course supplement, contains chapter-length histories for each of the eight cultures: The Near East, India, Egypt, China, Greece, Rome, Early Islam and Medieval Europe.
• A History of the World in 100 Objects - One hundred 15-minute program podcasts from 2010 BBC Radio 4 series, each focusing on an object from the British Museum’s collection, written and narrated by Neil MacGregor, Director of the British Museum.
• Lesson at a Glance: The Ancient Allure of the Seven Wonders of the World - From Online Classes.org,
• Mysterious Places: Explore sacred sites and ancient civilizations - Educational materials about the remains of ancient civilizations, sacred sites, and unusual locations from around the world.
• Seven Wonders of the Ancient World - Descriptions and pictures of the Seven Wonders: Great Pyramid of Giza, Hanging Gardens of Babylon, Statue of Zeus at Olympia, Temple of Artemis at Ephesus, Mausoleum of Halicarnassus, Colossus of Rhodes, and Lighthouse of Alexandria, listed in chronological order.
• World Civilizations - An Internet classroom of Civilization I & II, by Gen. Edu., Washington State University.
• World Heritage Memory Net - Provides instant multimedia and multilingual access to all 936 World Heritage Sites of 153 countries.

World Art History:

• Art History Resources on the Web - Maintained by Dr. Christopher LCE Witcombe, Sweet Briar College.
• Collections in The Art Institute of Chicago - Examples of Greek, Etruscan, Roman, and Egyptian sculpture, coins, glass, jewelry, vases, and mosaics.
• Timeline of Art History - A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, from the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Ancient Africa:

• African Timelines -Table of contents of African history and culture.
• African Voices - History - Provided by National Museum of National History, Smithsonian Institution.
• The Ancient West African City of Benin - Exhibition in the National Museum of African Art's collection.
• Explore the Wonders - Let you explore the wonders of African: black kingdoms of the Nile, the Swahili coast , slave kingdoms, the Holy land, road to Timbuktu, lost cities of the south, etc.
• Mysteries of the Nile - Explore the Pyramids, temples, and other monumental architecture of ancient Egypt through riveting 360° photos shot during this NOVA/PBS Online Adventure.
• The Story of Africa -The history of the continent from an African perspective.

Ancient China/India:

• Ancient China - Astrology, Buddhism, Confucius, famous sayings, dragons, Dunhuang caves, Feng shui and more.
• The British Museum: Ancient India - Interactive features about ancient India through the use of objects from the British Museum's collection. Topics include geography, Buddha, the civilization, writing, scripts, time in ancient India, and the evolution of early Hinduism and its gods and goddesses.
• Chinese Wedding Traditions - A composite of ancient Chinese wedding customs including the marriage proposal, betrothal, wedding preparations, ceremony, and post-wedding rituals.
• Daily Life in Ancient China - Basic background information covering the period from about 10,000 B.C. through 900 A.D., and lesson plans, classroom activities, and annotated links.
• Daily Life in Ancient India - Basic information and links for the ancient civilizations of India.
• Digital South Asia Library - Reference Resources, Images, Maps, Statistics, Bibliographies, Indexes, and more.
• Historical Atlas of South Asia - edited by Joseph E. Schwartzberg, the Digital South Asia Library.
• The Story of India - In this landmark six-part series for PBS and the BBC, Michael Wood will embark on a dazzling and exciting journey through today's India, "seeking in the present for clues to her past, and in the past for clues to her future".
• A Visual Sourcebook of Chinese Civilization - Features a timeline with links to information and images, and essays on topics such as ancient tombs, Buddhism, clothing, and gardens.

Ancient Egypt:

• The Ancient Egypt Web Site - A timeline; maps and photographs of monuments; information on Middle-Egyptian grammar and the royal titulary of the Egyptian Pharaohs; a browsable list of people, places, and things; a bibliography; and links. Created by a Belgian Egyptologist.
• Ancient Egyptian Culture - Daily life, history, mythology and more.
• Ancient Egyptian Pottery - Pictures, history of Egyptian pottery and ceramic arts.
• The British Museum- Ancient Egypt - Covers topics: home life, geography, religion, the pharaohs, pyramids, temples, trades, and writing from the British Museum.
• Egyptians - Articles, images, and interactive media from the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC).
• KingTutOne.com - An introductory Web site on ancient Egypt, including pharaohs, clip art, pyramids, queens, King Tut, mummies, art, religion, gods, hieroglyphs, societies, and the Sphinx.
• Larry Orcutt's Catchpenny Mysteries of Ancient Egypt - Explainted.

Ancient Greece:

• The Ancient City of Athens - Photographic archive of the archaeological and architectural remains of ancient Athens.
• The Ancient Greek World - A virtual gallery at the UP Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology; topics: The Land of Ancient Greece, Daily Life, Religion and Death, Economy, and more.
• The Greeks: Crucible of Civilization - Ancient Greek history, culture, politics, art, and warfare.
• Greek MythWeb - Focus on the heroes, gods and monsters of Greek mythology.
• Greek Mythology Link - A new collection of the Greek myths by Carlos Parada.
• Index of Maps of Ancient Greek World - Provided as background to the study of Plato and his dialogues.

Ancient and Medieval Middle Eastern:

• The Ottomans.org - A leading information portal regarding the history, military, culture and arts of the Ottoman Empire.
• Internet Islamic History Sourcebook - by Fordham University.

Ancient Rome:

• Ancient Rome - Resources of ancient Rome.
• De Imperatoribus Romanis - An online encyclopedia on the rulers of the Roman empire from Augustus (27 BC-AD 14) to Constantine XI Palaeologus (1449-1453).
• Encyclopedia Romana - Essays on the history and culture of Rome.
• The Roman Empire in the First Century - Meet the Emperors of Rome, read the words of poets, philosophers, and learn about life in the 1st Century AD.
• Romans - From Ancient & classical cultures, provided by Multnomah County Library.

Mayan Mythology:

• Mayan mythology - Evidence of the Mayan civilization's religious beliefs is extensive.
• Maya STORIES -- Legends with hidden politics - 41 tales, fables, myths and legends.
• Mythology of the Mayas - About objects in the sky, and aspects of their world.

Medieval Europe:

• Internet Medieval Sourcebook - A collection of full and excerpted texts in translation, organized to be of use in the classroom.
• Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies -An enormous array of links, from early music FAQs and The Digital Beowulf Project to classical literature in old Norse.
• Middle Ages - Sections on feudal life, religion, homes, clothing, health, arts & entertainment, and town life in Mediaeval times.
• Mostly Medieval - Information on heraldry, myths and legends, religion, medicine, and other aspects of life in Britain during the Middle Ages.
• NetSERF: The Internet Connection for Medieval Resources - Over 1,600 Web sites on the Middle Ages, categorized by subject.