Skip to Main Content

Online Nursing: Journals & Articles

Featured Library Resources: Nursing (Online)

Recommended Databases

Below are the most popular databases for researching topics in nursing and allied health. Searching multiple databases will help create a well-rounded body of research. Try limiting the publication date to ensure that you see up-to-date results.

  • CINAHL Complete Best Bet
    CINAHL® Complete is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for nearly 1,400 journals indexed in CINAHL®. Of those, 953 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search™, Health Source® or Nursing & Allied Health Collection™. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL® index, with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1937, CINAHL® Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
  • Nursing & Allied Health Database Best Bet
    This database provides abstracting and indexing for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,000 full text dissertations in nursing and allied health related fields.
  • Ovid Nursing Fulltext Plus Best Bet
    This database includes more than 40 premier full text journals from Lippincott Williams & Wilkins (LWW) as well as bibliographic records from over 400 nursing journals.
  • Health and Medical Collection
    This database provides access to over 1,530 publications with over 1,270 available in full text and of these, over 910 include MEDLINE indexing. It covers clinical research titles as well as hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles.
  • Health Source: Academic/Nursing Edition
  • ScienceDirect College Editions New
    Elsevier's ScienceDirect College Edition contains almost two thousand peer-reviewed full-text journals in the health & life sciences, physical sciences, and social & behavioral sciences. Coverage for most journals begins in 1996 and runs through the present with no embargo.

Using PubMed

Search in CINAHL and ProQuest

Search in CINAHL Complete

 

ProQuest's Nursing and Allied Health Database

CINAHL Quick Guide

Quick Tips on Searching CINAHL

Looking for more tutorials? Try the CINAHL Support Center.

Check out the Library Quick Guide Searching CINAHL Plus for Heath Resources.

The Database Doesn't Have Full Text for My Article. Now What?

During your search, you may encounter times when the full text (PDF or HTML) of an article is not available in the database.  Follow these steps to see how you may locate an electronic or print version of your article:

  1. If PDF and HTML full text are unavailable, click the Linked Fulltext option in EBSCOhost databases or the Check for Full Text using OCLC Link Resolver link to locate print or electronic copies in Guarini Library's other holdings.
  2. If you know the name of the journal in which the article appears, search the Periodical List A-Z to see if the journal is available online in one of the research databases.
  3. If the article is not available at Guarini Library or electronically through the research databases, you can try request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Print Periodicals

Find journals on the second floor near the periodicals desk, or browse the Periodicals List A-Z. Some titles include:

  • American Journal of Nursing
  • Home Healthcare Nurse
  • Journal of Professional Nursing
  • Nursing
  • Nursing Management 
  • Nursing Times (NT)
  • Pediatric Nursing
  • RN