Library Guides: African and African-American Studies: Subject Guide

Recommended Databases: African & African American Studies

Additional databases are available on the Library Home Page

Ask A Librarian for assistance

Multidisciplinary Databases

RSS Feeds: Recent Articles from Selected Journals on African Studies

Online Library Catalog: WorldCat Discovery

Use any combination of keywords, subjects, authors, or titles
Search results will include both print and electronic library holdings
Download fulltext e-books and e-journal articles easily
Locate print materials and DVDs in the library using the shelving locations, call numbers, collection guide, and map
Limit results by format, date, full-text, and peer-review
Search for books, journals, and articles in other libraries and request these items using Inter-library Loan
Use the Ask-a-Librarian feature to chat online or request assistance

Hagan Center

Selected Websites: African and African American Studies

African-American Archaeology, History and Cultures
Links to bibliographies, research institutes, and heritage sites, from a University of Illinois anthropology professor.
African-American Odyssey
A special presentation of the Library of Congress exhibition, explores black America's quest for equality from the early national period through the twentieth century.
African-American Perspectives
Pamphlets from the Daniel A. P. Murray Collection, 1818-1907; present a panoramic and eclectic review of African-American history and culture, by the Library of Congress.
African American History
Search East Carolina University's Digital Collection of African American History by topic, place, or format.
African American Sites in the Digital Collections
Library of Congress guide to "online resources regarding significant people, major institutions and events from an African American perspective, historically related to an era."
more...less...
Compiled by Sabrina C. Thomas, Digital Reference Specialist, Library of Congress.
African Studies Association
"Established in 1957, the African Studies Association is the flagship membership organization devoted to enhancing the exchange of information about Africa."
African Women's Bibliographic Database
An extensive, searchable database of materials on African women from 1986 to the present.
Association for the Study of African American Life and History (ASALH)
"Established on September 9, 1915 by Dr. Carter G. Woodson, we are the Founders of Black History Month and carry forth the work of our founder, the Father of Black History."
BBC News - Africa
Latest news from Africa news: breaking news, features, analysis and special reports and videos.
Black Culture Connection
"PBS Black Culture Connection is your resource and guide to films, stories and voices across public television centered around Black history & culture."
The Humphrey Winterton Collection of East African Photographs: 1860-1960
A searchable collection of thousands of rare photographs chronicling Europe's colonization of East Africa, from Northwestern University Library.
The Online Reference Guide to African American History
"This 13,000 page reference center is dedicated to providing information to the general public on African American history and on the history of the more than one billion people of African ancestry around the world."

Digital Schomburg: African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
"A digital collection of some 52 published works by 19th-century black women writers."

African American Contributions to the History of New Jersey: Some New Jerseyans of Note
Touring the Underground Railroad in New Jersey
NJTV News brings together a variety of information and resources useful to anyone who wants to learn more about the history of the underground railroad in New Jersey.

African American Christianity, Pt. I: To the Civil War
by Laurie Maffly-Kipp
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
©National Humanities Center
African American Christianity, Pt. II: From the Civil War to the Great Migration, 1865-1920
By Laurie Maffly-Kipp
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
©National Humanities Center
Islam in America: From African Slaves to Malcolm X
By Thomas A. Tweed
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
©National Humanities Center

Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936 to 1938 (Library of Congress)
Slave narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938. It contains first-person accounts of slavery and black-and-white photographs of former slaves.
North American Slave Narratives
A collection of books and articles that document the individual and collective story of African Americans struggling for freedom and human rights in the eighteenth, nineteenth, and early twentieth centuries.
Slaves and the Courts, 1740 to 1860
Over a hundred pamphlets and books (published between 1772 and 1889) concerning the difficult and troubling experiences of African and African-American slaves in the American colonies and the United States, by the Library of Congress.

Museum of African American History (Boston)
"Dedicated to preserving, conserving and accurately interpreting the contributions of African Americans during the colonial period in New England."
Documenting the American South
Provides access to digitized primary source materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture.

Zora Neale Hurston Plays at the Library of Congress
A selection of ten plays written by Hurston (1891-1960), author, anthropologist, and folklorist at American Memory Collection, Library of Congress.

African and African-American Studies: Subject Guide

Featured Library Resources: African and African American Studies

Recommended Databases: African & African American Studies

Additional databases are available on the Library Home Page

Ask A Librarian for assistance

Multidisciplinary Databases

RSS Feeds: Recent Articles from Selected Journals on African Studies

Online Library Catalog: WorldCat Discovery

Hagan Center

Selected Websites: African and African American Studies